Rowena Chan

President, Sun Life Financial Distributors (Canada) Inc., Senior Vice-President, Retail Advice & Solutions

A seasoned financial services executive with decades of experience, Rowena is passionate about bringing wellness and peace of mind to Canadians. She leads both Sun Life Canada’s Distribution and Insurance Solutions businesses.

In her role, Rowena oversees life and health insurance solutions and an omni-channel distribution organization delivering personalized life-long planning and advice to Canadians. She is passionate about improving the health of Canadians through broadening access to insurance products through innovative end-to-end solutions integrating insurance and health. Rowena believes that trusted advice, innovative solutions and engaging digital experiences can help Canadians achieve lifetime financial security and live healthier lives.

Rowena is equally passionate about the development of talent and determined to improve the dynamics of workplace diversity, equity and inclusion (DE&I) for women and underrepresented ethnicities. In 2022, Rowena was recognized as a member of Insurance Business’ Global 100 for her work on digital transformation to enhance the Client experience and DE&I in the workplace. In 2021, Insurance Business Canada named her Canada’s Leader of Change for moving the industry forward. In 2020, Rowena was awarded Canada’s Most Powerful Women Award among Executive Leaders by the Women Exchange Network (WXN) for her role in advancing the societal and professional landscape for future generations. She is also an alumnus of the Judy Project, one of Canada's leading executive forums, designed to support and prepare women ascending into executive leadership. For her work in this forum, she was featured in the book The Collective Wisdom of High-Performing Women.

Prior to joining Sun Life, Rowena held a series of senior executive roles at TD Bank Group across retail distribution, wealth management, product development, data & analytics and control functions. Rowena holds a BA in Sociology and Economics from the University of Toronto where she has been recognized as a Top 50 alumnus.

Rowena Chan

Présidente, Distribution Financière Sun Life (Canada) inc. et vice-présidente principale, distribution et solutions d’assurance

Dirigeante chevronnée dans le secteur des services financiers, Rowena Chan compte des décennies d’expérience. Elle a à cœur d’assurer le mieux-être et la tranquillité d’esprit des Canadiens. Elle est à la tête de la division Distribution et solutions d’assurance de la Sun Life Canada.

Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, Mme Chan est responsable du secteur des solutions d’assurance-vie et d’assurance-santé. Elle dirige également la distribution, une organisation omnicanal qui offre aux Canadiens des services de planification et des conseils personnalisés pour toute la vie. Elle veut améliorer la santé des Canadiens en facilitant l’accès aux produits d’assurance au moyen de solutions complètes innovatrices intégrant l’assurance et la santé. Elle croit que des conseils fiables, des solutions innovatrices et des expériences numériques conviviales peuvent aider les Canadiens à atteindre une sécurité financière durable et un mode de vie sain.

Très attachée au perfectionnement des meilleurs talents, Mme Chan est déterminée à améliorer la dynamique de la diversité, de l’équité et de l’inclusion (DEI) en milieu de travail pour les femmes et les membres des communautés ethniques sous-représentées. En 2022, elle figurait sur la liste Global 100 d’Insurance Business pour son travail sur la transformation numérique visant à améliorer l’expérience Client et la DEI en milieu de travail. En 2021, Insurance Business Canada l’a nommée parmi les leaders du changement au Canada afin de souligner le vent de changement qu’elle apporte dans le secteur de l’assurance. Et en 2020, le Women Exchange Network (WXN) l’a reconnue comme l’une des dirigeantes les plus influentes du pays en raison de sa contribution à faire évoluer la société et l’industrie dans l’intérêt des générations futures. Elle fait aussi partie des anciennes élèves du Judy Project, un important forum de cadres au pays, qui favorise et soutient l’accès des femmes à des postes de direction. Son apport à ce forum lui a valu de figurer dans le livre The Collective Wisdom of High-Performing Women.

Avant d’entrer au service de la Sun Life, Mme Chan a occupé plusieurs postes d’importance au Groupe Banque TD dans la distribution, la gestion de patrimoine, la conception de produits, l’analytique des données et les fonctions de contrôle. Elle détient un baccalauréat en sociologie et en économie de l’Université de Toronto. Elle figure d’ailleurs au palmarès des 50 anciens étudiants les plus remarquables de cette université.