Best Doctors®

Best Doctors®

Your employees have 50,000 of the best medical specialists in the world on their side.

Here’s how you can help them remember to call Best Doctors in times of medical uncertainty.

Remember these quick facts

Best Doctors allows employees, their spouses, dependent children, parents and parents-in-law take control of their health by helping them:

  • understand a medical condition.
  • confirm they have the right diagnosis.
  • ensure they are aware of the best treatment options.
  • get an expert second opinion.
  • navigate the Canadian health care system.
  • find a specialist within their provided parameters.

For the Expert Medical Opinion service, Best Doctors matches each caller with a Registered Nurse who will become their personal health advocate. They will:

  • ensure their medical records are collected free of charge.
  • send the records to an expert physician for review.
  • ensure that your employees have the information and support needed to make more informed medical decisions.

Bookmark this page

You’ll always have helpful materials at your fingertips if one of your employees faces a medical issue.


Download these materials for your employees:

How does Best Doctors help?

Best Doctors 360°® helps members navigate the health care system to take control of their own health care by providing access to resources, ongoing one-on-one support and a wide range of health-related information.

Claire* has been diagnosed with diabetes. She’d like to know as much as she can about it. Claire called Best Doctors®. Her Member Advocate conducted an in-depth interview to understand her circumstances. A week later, Claire had website links, statistics on diabetes, information on local resources and other valuable tools to help her take control of her diabetes.

FindBestDocSM and FindBestCareSM help you find specialist services.

Natalie* needs an orthopaedic specialist but cannot travel far. She has called Best Doctors and they’ve provided the name of a specialist in her area. They sent her the specialist’s biography with background information as well as wait times and how to have her treating physician complete the referral. Natalie's got the choice to have her case reviewed by a leading care facility outside of Canada too. She’s got all the information she needs to take the next step.

InterConsultationSM gives you a second opinion.

Joseph’s* doctor has told him he needs a back operation. Joseph wants to be 100% sure before taking such a big step. He’s called Best Doctors and an expert physician has reviewed his medical records. Joseph received a written report with the specialist’s recommendations that he can share with his own doctor.

Ask the ExpertSM allows members to have their health questions answered in writing by a leading medical specialist.

Shaun* has recently been diagnosed with high cholesterol and is prescribed a treatment plan. He has questions about his treatment and the medications he’s taking – how do these help? What are the side effects of the medication? What is the likelihood of experiencing these side effects? Will he have to be on the medication his entire life? Is it more effective in lowering cholesterol than lifestyle modifications? His Member Advocate reviews his medical history over the phone and helps him formulate questions to send to the Best Doctors expert. A week later, Shaun had a written report with answers, information, and additional questions that he could ask his treating physician to make him feel confident about the treatment of his condition.

*Examples only; these are not actual patient names and situations.

This web page is intended for Sun Life plan sponsors with Best Doctors as part of their benefits plan. If you would like to find out more about adding Best Doctors to your plan, please contact your Sun Life Group Benefits representative.
 

All representations about the services of Best Doctors are those of Best Doctors Inc., and not Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada. Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada cannot guarantee the availability of the services and reserves the right to cancel the services at any time.

Réseau Best DoctorsMD

Réseau Best DoctorsMD

Vos employés ont accès à 50 000 des meilleurs médecins spécialistes du monde.

Voici comment vous pouvez les aider à se souvenir du Réseau Best Doctors lorsqu'un problème de santé les laisse perplexes.

Souvenez-vous de ce qui suit

Le Réseau Best Doctors permet à vos employés, à leurs conjoints, enfants à charge, parents et beaux-parents de prendre leur santé en main en les aidant à :

  • comprendre un problème de santé;
  • confirmer qu'ils ont reçu le bon diagnostic;
  • s'assurer qu'ils connaissent les meilleures options de traitement;
  • obtenir le deuxième avis d'un expert;
  • s'y retrouver dans le système de santé.
  • trouver un spécialiste en fonction des paramètres qu'ils auront fournis.

En ce qui concerne le service Avis médicaux d’experts, Best Doctors met en contact chaque appelant avec une infirmière autorisée qui deviendra son conseiller personnel en matière de santé et s'occupera :

  • de recueillir son dossier médical sans frais;
  • d'envoyer son dossier à un médecin spécialiste en vue d'un examen;
  • de veiller à ce que les employés disposent des renseignements et du soutien requis pour prendre des décisions éclairées.

Ajoutez cette page à vos favoris

Vous aurez toujours accès à des documents utiles si vos employés sont confrontés à des problèmes médicaux.


Téléchargez ces documents pour vos employés :

En quoi Best Doctors peut-il être utile?

Services médicaux 360°MD aide les participants à s'y retrouver dans le système de santé pour prendre en main leur santé en leur donnant accès à des ressources, à du soutien individuel et à un vaste éventail de renseignements.

Claire* a reçu un diagnostic de diabète. Elle aimerait en savoir le plus possible sur la question. Claire a appelé Best Doctors. Son conseiller personnel a effectué un entretien en profondeur pour comprendre sa situation. Une semaine plus tard, Claire profitait de sites Web, de statistiques sur le diabète, de renseignements sur les ressources disponibles dans sa région et d'autres outils précieux qui l'ont aidée à prendre en main son diabète.

LeBonSpécialisteMS et SoinsHorsCanadaMS vous aident à trouver les services d'un spécialiste.

Nathalie* a besoin de soins orthopédiques, mais elle ne peut pas se déplacer trop loin. Elle a appelé Best Doctors et elle a reçu le nom d'un spécialiste dans sa région, la biographie de ce dernier et des renseignements généraux, ainsi que le délai d'attente et de l'information sur la façon dont son médecin traitant devait remplir la recommandation. Nathalie s'est également vu offrir l'examen de son dossier par un établissement de soins de premier ordre situé à l'extérieur du Canada. Elle a maintenant tous les renseignements dont elle a besoin pour passer à l'étape suivante.

InterConsultationMS vous donne un deuxième avis.

Le médecin de Joseph* lui a dit qu'il devait subir une opération au dos. Joseph voulait être sûr de lui avant de prendre une telle décision. Il a appelé Best Doctors et un médecin spécialiste a examiné son dossier médical. Joseph a reçu un rapport écrit contenant les recommandations du spécialiste, qu'il pouvait communiquer à son propre médecin.

Grâce au service Consultez l'expertMS, les participants obtiennent, à leurs questions en matière de santé, des réponses écrites d'un médecin spécialiste chevronné.

Pierre* a récemment reçu un diagnostic d'hypercholestérolémie et doit suivre le traitement qui lui a été prescrit. Il a des questions sur son traitement et sur les médicaments qu'il prend : En quoi ceux-ci aident-ils? Quels sont les effets secondaires de ces médicaments? Quelle est la probabilité de ressentir ces effets secondaires? Devra-t-il prendre ces médicaments pour le reste de sa vie? Sont-ils plus efficaces pour réduire le taux de cholestérol qu'une modification des habitudes de vie? Son conseiller personnel examine avec lui ses antécédents médicaux au téléphone et l'aide à formuler les questions qu'il souhaite envoyer à l'expert de Best Doctors. Une semaine plus tard, Pierre reçoit un rapport écrit contenant des réponses, de l'information et des questions additionnelles qu'il pourrait poser à son médecin traitant pour se rassurer.

*Les noms et les situations sont fictifs et présentés à titre d'exemple uniquement.

Cette page Web est destinée aux promoteurs de régime faisant affaire avec la Sun Life qui offrent les services Best Doctors dans le cadre de leur régime de garanties. Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur la façon d'ajouter les services Best Doctors à votre régime, veuillez communiquer avec votre représentant aux Garanties collectives de la Sun Life.
 

Toute assertion relative aux services Best Doctors provient de Best Doctors, Inc., et non de la Sun Life du Canada, compagnie d'assurance-vie. La Sun Life du Canada, compagnie d'assurance-vie ne peut pas garantir l'accessibilité aux services Best Doctors et se réserve le droit de les annuler à tout moment.