Improving the online experience

Digital innovations are critical to providing a better end-to-end plan member experience. Through enhancements – such as mobile optimization – that create greater ease of use and personalization, we’re improving the digital experience to drive plan member actions toward better financial health.

Our continuous investment in digital innovation is a key driver behind our member satisfaction ratings. A survey conducted by an external research company in 2020 saw members indicate that our digital experience surpassed those of our competitors by 7% in terms of overall satisfaction.

In 2020, we made design and experience enhancements to most of our plan member site. This made it easier for plan members to navigate and use their retirement planning and savings. We also significantly enhanced the enrolment experience, making it faster and easier for new hires. In addition, we enhanced several of our online tools and functions to increase functionality and ease of use.

And for plan sponsors, we launched sunlife.ca/groupretirement, putting all our GRS and GB information in one place for you. 

In Q2 2020, we launched our new Enrol tool, letting employees enrol in their plan in just a few simple steps. The results were overwhelmingly positive.

  • 84% of users found the new enrolment tool either “Easy” or “Very Easy” to use.
  • Twice as many employees completed the flow under the new tool versus the completion rate under the old enrolment tool.
  • The new tool took less time to complete than the old tool (less than 6 minutes).

Learn more about Enrol

We launched our renewed Retirement planner and consolidated the process into a single page. Leveraging behavioural economics theory, the planner increased engagement by showing plan members the real-time impact of their decisions. The new planner included our new Budget calculator. The Budget calculator helps plan members understand their retirement income and expenses, especially for those who relate less to numbers and more to the visualizing of their retirement lifestyle. The calculator lets them choose from six different lifestyles, based on strong data analytics from the experiences of Canadians across the country. Each lifestyle provides a pre-set retirement income goal and estimated monthly costs. Employees can also create their own custom retirement budget. 

Learn more about new tools

We launched our new contribution limits page on mysunlife.ca. The new feature helps plan memebers track their RRSP and TFSA contributions and stay within Canada Revenue Agency limits. This includes proactive email alerts sent to plan members to help them monitor their contributions.

Learn more about the contributions page

We introduced a new public plan sponsor website: sunlife.ca/groupretirement. The site is your new destination for any Group Retirement Services resources and information you need. From news and insights, to products and wellness, sunlife.ca/groupretirement has it all.

The site provides you with up-to-date information related to industry news and changes. And the homepage also provides you with easy access to Sun Life Group Benefits (sunlife.ca/groupbenefits).

We also gave the SunAdvantage™ my savings website a new look and feel, along with full accessibility. In addition, we consolidated the Advisor and Small Business Owner pages to allow for one streamlined website for Advisors and their small business clients.

The site is now a one-stop spot for all SunAdvantage™ my savings support and resources, including contractual documents, how-to guides, employee guides and forms.

Learn more about the new website

We improved the Change Investments web experience for plan members. The enhancements included:

  • Adding the 'Help me do it' approach to investing where members provide us information on their risk tolerance or retirement age, and we suggest a single fund solution to help them meet their goals.
  • Integrating the Asset allocation tool results for members to see in real-time how their fund selections are aligning to their risk tolerance.
  • Helping guide better decisions by making important information and warning messages more relevant to the funds plan members are selecting.
  • The completion rate for choosing new investments was six times higher than the completion rate for the old flow.

Learn more about the Change investment flow

Security and digital innovation go hand-in-hand. In 2020, we completed more than 15 new projects to improve our cyber security defences to ensure they are effective against the changing threat landscape.  We also conducted more than 520 phishing simulation tests over the year, reaching every Sun Life employee and contractor globally.

In addition, we subscribe to several cyber intelligence services to track, assess and defend against the latest cyber threats. We also participate in industry committees to share intelligence and best practices to guard against future attacks.

Safeguarding Client data is one of our greatest responsibilities as a provider. These continued investments in our cyber security programs help us keep pace with an extremely active threat environment and ensure your information is safe.

2021 preview

Here are some key digital innovations that we’ll be working on in 2021 to help plan members achieve better financial health outcomes.

  • Mobile app enhancements.  We’ll invest in the mobile app to add functionality that is most desired by plan members. Starting with core transactional capabilities such as Enrol and Change Investments.
  • Digitize paper enrolment. We’ll innovate to remove the barriers faced by plan sponsors in moving to digital enrolment. This suite of innovations will include the ability for sponsors to upload a list of plan members directly through the sponsor site. This will allow us to reach out to these plan members and nudge them to enrol in their plan digitally.
  • Digitize asset consolidation. We’ll digitize our asset consolidation process so that plan members can take full advantage of their plan benefits, with negotiated fees for all their portfolio.
  • Secure site refresh. We'll continue to refresh our secure site to ensure a seamless and consistent experience for plan members. This refresh will let them connect with us from any device by ensuring that pages are mobile responsive. It will also ensure we meet accessibility guidelines so all our users can feel confident when using our digital tools.
  • E-beneficiary refresh. We’ll enhance our beneficiary experience to be mobile optimized – and integrate it into Enrol.
  • Welcome Letter enhancement. We’ll enhance our systems to digitize our welcome letter experience to help members access all online assets faster and easier.

Améliorer l’expérience en ligne

Les innovations numériques sont essentielles à l’amélioration de l’expérience globale des participants. Grâce à des améliorations comme l’optimisation de la technologie mobile, qui facilitent l’utilisation et la personnalisation des outils, nous rehaussons l’expérience numérique pour mieux guider les participants qui souhaitent améliorer leur santé financière.

Notre investissement soutenu dans l’innovation numérique est l’un des principaux facteurs qui motivent les notes de satisfaction des participants. Dans un sondage mené par une société externe en 2020, la satisfaction globale des participants à l’égard de notre expérience numérique était de 7 % supérieure au résultat de nos concurrents.

En 2020, nous avons amélioré la présentation et l’expérience Client de la plupart des sites destinés aux participants. Il est donc plus facile pour les participants de naviguer sur ces sites et d’utiliser leur épargne-retraite. Nous avons beaucoup amélioré et accéléré le processus d’adhésion des nouveaux employés. De plus, nous avons bonifié de nombreux outils en ligne et de nombreuses fonctions, pour accroître leur efficacité et en faciliter l’utilisation.

Et pour les promoteurs de régime, nous avons lancé le site sunlife.ca/regimescollectifsderetraite, qui regroupe au même endroit toute l’information sur les régimes collectifs de retraite et les garanties collectives. 

Au deuxième trimestre de 2020, nous avons lancé notre nouvel outil Adhésion, qui permet aux employés d’adhérer à leur régime en quelques étapes simples. Nous avons obtenu des résultats très positifs!

  • En tout, 84 % des utilisateurs affirment que le nouvel outil d’adhésion est « facile » ou « très facile » à utiliser.
  • Deux fois plus d’employés ont terminé le processus avec le nouvel outil d’adhésion qu’avec l’ancien.
  • Le processus est plus rapide et prend moins de 6 minutes.

En savoir plus sur l’adhésion

Nous avons amélioré le Planificateur de retraite et ramené tout le processus sur une seule page. S’appuyant sur la théorie de l’économie comportementale, le planificateur a renforcé l’engagement des participants en leur montrant en temps réel l’incidence de leurs décisions. Le nouveau planificateur comprend notre nouveau Calculateur de budget. Ce calculateur aide les participants à comprendre les revenus et les dépenses qu’ils auront à la retraite, en particulier pour ceux qui s’intéressent moins aux chiffres qu’à la visualisation de leur mode de vie à la retraite. Le calculateur leur permet de choisir parmi six modes de vie différents, basés sur une solide analyse de données tirées de l’expérience de Canadiens des quatre coins du pays. Pour chaque mode de vie, on présente un objectif de revenu de retraite préétabli et une estimation des dépenses mensuelles. Les employés peuvent également créer leur propre budget de retraite personnalisé. 

En savoir plus sur les nouveaux outils

Nous avons lancé notre nouvelle page sur les plafonds de cotisation sur le site masunlife.ca. Elle aide les participants à faire le suivi de leurs cotisations REER et CELI et à ne pas dépasser les limites de l’Agence du revenu du Canada. Des courriels d’alerte proactifs sont aussi envoyés aux participants pour les aider à surveiller leurs cotisations. 

En savoir plus sur la page de suivi des plafonds de cotisation

Nous avons lancé un nouveau site Web public pour les promoteurs de régime : sunlife.ca/regimescollectifsderetraite. Ce site sera votre nouvelle destination pour toutes les ressources et informations dont vous avez besoin sur les régimes collectifs de retraite. Nouvelles, perspectives, produits, renseignements sur le mieux-être : tout se trouve sur sunlife.ca/regimescollectifsderetraite!

Le site fournit de l’information à jour sur l’actualité et les changements dans l’industrie. La page d’accueil vous permet aussi d’accéder facilement à de l’information sur les Garanties collectives de la Sun Life (sunlife.ca/garantiescollectives).

Nous avons aussi donné au site Web mon épargne SunAvantageMD une nouvelle présentation, ainsi qu’une accessibilité accrue. Nous avons aussi consolidé les pages des conseillers et des propriétaires de petite entreprise pour offrir une expérience uniforme.

Ce site donne accès au soutien et aux ressources disponibles pour la solution mon épargne SunAvantageMD : documents contractuels, guides pratiques, guides pour les employés et formulaires.

En savoir plus sur le nouveau site Web

Nous avons amélioré l’expérience Web de modification des placements pour les participants. Les améliorations sont les suivantes :

  • Ajout de l’approche Aidez-moi à choisir, où les participants nous donnent de l’information sur leur tolérance au risque ou l’âge prévu de leur départ à la retraite, et où nous leur proposons un fonds qui les aidera à atteindre leurs objectifs
  • Intégration des résultats de l’outil Répartition de l’actif, pour que les participants puissent voir en temps réel comment leurs choix de fonds se comparent à leur tolérance au risque
  • Aide favorisant les décisions éclairées, qui se traduit par des messages et des avertissements plus pertinents selon les fonds choisis par les participants
  • Taux d’achèvement du processus six fois plus élevé pour le choix des nouveaux placements, comparativement à l’ancien processus

En savoir plus sur le processus de modification des placements

La sécurité et l’innovation numérique vont de pair. En 2020, nous avons mené à bien plus de 15 nouveaux projets visant à améliorer nos défenses en matière de cybersécurité compte tenu de l’évolution des menaces. Nous avons mené durant l’année plus de 520 simulations d’hameçonnage qui ont ciblé tous les employés et les fournisseurs de la Sun Life, partout dans le monde.

Nous utilisons plusieurs services de cyberrenseignements pour faire le suivi des plus récentes cybermenaces, les évaluer et nous défendre contre elles. Nous participons également à des comités de l’industrie pour partager renseignements et meilleures pratiques et nous protéger contre les cybermenaces.

La protection des données des Clients est l’une de nos plus grandes responsabilités en tant que fournisseur. Ces investissements soutenus dans nos programmes de cybersécurité nous aident à suivre le rythme malgré les menaces constantes et à garantir la sécurité de vos renseignements.

Aperçu pour 2021

Voici quelques-unes des principales innovations numériques sur lesquelles nous travaillerons en 2021 pour aider les participants à renforcer leur santé financière.

  • Amélioration de l’appli mobile. Nous investirons dans l’appli mobile pour y ajouter les fonctionnalités les plus demandées par les participants. Nous commencerons par nos activités transactionnelles de base, comme l’outil Adhésion et la modification des placements.
  • Adhésion numérique. En passant à l’adhésion numérique, nous innovons en enlevant les obstacles pour les promoteurs de régime. Cette série d’innovations permettra notamment aux promoteurs de téléverser la liste des participants directement dans le site des promoteurs. Nous pourrons alors communiquer avec ces participants et les inviter à adhérer au régime par voie électronique.
  • Numérisation du processus de regroupement de l’actif. Nous allons numériser le processus de regroupement de l’actif afin que les participants puissent profiter pleinement des avantages de leur régime, y compris des frais négociés, pour tout leur portefeuille.
  • Nouvelle version du site sécurisé. Nous continuerons à actualiser notre site sécurisé afin d’assurer une expérience harmonieuse aux participants. Nous nous assurerons que toutes les pages sont adaptées aux appareils mobiles, pour qu’ils puissent communiquer avec nous avec n’importe quel appareil. Nous nous assurerons aussi de répondre aux exigences d’accessibilité, pour que tous les utilisateurs puissent utiliser nous outils numériques avec aisance.
  • Révision de la désignation de bénéficiaire par voie électronique. Nous allons optimiser l’expérience de désignation de bénéficiaire sur l’appli mobile et l’intégrer à l’outil Adhésion.
  • Amélioration de la lettre de bienvenue. Nous allons améliorer nos systèmes pour numériser notre lettre de bienvenue et aider les participants à accéder plus rapidement et plus facilement à tous les actifs en ligne.