Ensuring plan members have the financial resources they need for on-time retirement

Retirement readiness is a long-term undertaking, and a slow and steady process. We remained focused in 2020 – despite pandemic turbulence – and continued to engage with plan members to help ensure their future retirement readiness.

Ella encouraged plan members to save with an RRSP or TFSA and explained the benefits of each. As the financial picture slowly strengthened, plan members took action. 

We also educated plan members during Financial Literacy Month and engaged with them through our Financial Wellness Webinar series. More importantly, we added additional topics to help plan members deal with financial issues related to the pandemic.

In addition, we launched a new financial podcast series, Times & Dimes, available on Spotify. And in a year that saw significant periods of market volatility, we continued to offer financial planning support through our Money for Life Retirement Journey.

Throughout November – Financial Literacy Month we reached out to plan members to strengthen their financial literacy and empowered them to save for the future. More than 1 million emails were sent to plan members, with significantly higher rates of engagement than in 2019. 71.7% increase in open rate and more than 81% increase in click-through rate compared to 2019.

Some emails (more than 500,000) also encouraged plan members to complete a MAX Review. By completing this review, plan members could ensure that their savings strategy was aligned with their retirement and savings goals. Again, rates of engagement were significantly higher than last year.  More than 90% increase in open rate and more than 96.3% increase in click-through rate compared to 2019.

Learn more about Financial Literacy Month

For our TFSA campaign in August, plan members received personalized emails from our digital coach Ella. The campaign was focused on building financial resiliency and encouraged plan members to use a TFSA to create an emergency fund.

Our use of Ella has been highly successful. She had more than 7.3 million plan member engagements in 2020, a 50% increase over 2019. And through Ella, plan members have contributed $700 million to their savings.

To further support the TFSA campaign, plan sponsors were sent:

  • a flyer to help them promote the TFSA campaign to plan members.
  • an infographic that highlighted the key differences between RRSPs and TFSAs.
  • A Bright Paper on how TFSAs are used in group plans, the benefits to employers, and the key advantages to plan members.

In addition to targeted savings and literacy campaigns, we hosted ongoing webinars designed to boost plan member financial wellness. In response to COVID-19, we ran 91 education sessions, an increase of 52% over 2019.

We hosted 15 financial wellness topics:

  • Connect with your money
  • Becoming retirement ready
  • Investing: The essentials
  • Staying the course in changing times
  • Reviewing your financial roadmap
  • Managing your savings
  • Balancing your finances:  Understanding credit and debt
  • Saving: The essentials
  • Where there’s a will, there’s a way
  • Your health and your wealth – what’s the connection?
  • Transition and change
  • 5 steps to boost your financial health
  • Creating your retirement roadmap
  • Planning for emergency reduced income
  • Making cent$ of money – budgeting 101

For two of these webinars (“Planning for emergency reduced income” and “Making cent$ of money – budgeting 101”) we partnered with the Credit Counselling Society, bringing their expertise directly to plan members.

Our average attendance rates per session increased from 119 participants in 2019 to 126 participants in 2020 (6% increase).

More than 11,000 plan members participated in the webinar series, a 49% increase from 2019, with many (41%) participating during the first wave of the pandemic in April, May and June.

Watch financial wellness webinars

This past year, we launched a new financial podcast series, Times & Dimes, available on Spotify. The podcast continues to see a consistent month-over-month growth in listeners. The series is hosted by Graham Clark, a three-time Canadian Comedy Award winner and co-host of Maximum Fun's “Stop Podcasting Yourself.”

On each episode, Clark chats with a new guest about their financial journey, personal financial successes or struggles, and how they managed to overcome them.

Listen here

2021 preview

Our engagement with plan members in 2021 will include Ella nudges around retirement readiness, financial security, and healthier lives. It will also include upcoming improvements to the my Sun Life mobile app

Our current decumulation offerings provide a range of solutions for your plan members, but we’ll continue to expand our support. This could include:

  • Updating plan member tools
  • Enhancing our Retirement Consultant and advice offering
  • Expanding variable benefits in Quebec
  • Contributing to industry thought leadership, with a focus on retirement income needs and available support
  • Being a strong advocate, with the Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association and regulators, to reinforce the importance of new product innovation.

Our recently launched Planalytics™ will help you make data-driven decisions about your plan. Our new plan sponsor reporting innovation will help you drive better outcomes on your plan.

Aider les participants à être prêts financièrement pour leur départ à la retraite

La préparation à la retraite est un projet à long terme. C’est la somme de petits efforts constants. Nous avons maintenu le cap en 2020 – malgré la pandémie – et avons continué d’inciter les participants des régimes à bien préparer leur retraite.

Ella a encouragé les participants à cotiser au REER ou au CELI et leur a expliqué les avantages de chacun des régimes. Au fur et à mesure que la conjoncture s’améliorait, les participants sont passés à l’action. 

Nous avons également sensibilisé les participants au cours du Mois de la littératie financière et leur avons présenté nos webinaires sur le mieux-être financier. Nous y avons ajouté de nouveaux thèmes pour aider les participants à mieux gérer les problèmes financiers associés à la pandémie.

Nous avons aussi lancé sur Spotify un nouveau balado sur les finances personnelles, intitulé De temps et d’argent. Et au cours d’une année marquée par d’importantes périodes de volatilité, nous avons continué à soutenir la planification financière au moyen du Parcours retraite Mon argent pour la vie.

Pendant tout le mois de novembre (le Mois de la littératie financière), nous avons communiqué avec les participants en vue d’accroître leurs connaissances financières et de leur donner des moyens d’épargner pour l’avenir. Plus d’un million de courriels ont été envoyés aux participants, et les taux d’engagement étaient nettement supérieurs à ceux de 2019. Notons une augmentation de plus de 71,7 % du taux d’ouverture des courriels et une hausse de plus de 81 % du taux de clics par rapport à 2019.

Certains courriels (plus de 500 000) invitaient également les participants à réaliser une MAX Révision. Ainsi, les participants pouvaient vérifier si leur stratégie de placement concordait avec leurs objectifs d’épargne et de retraite. Là encore, les taux d’engagement ont été bien plus élevés que l’année dernière. Le taux d’ouverture a bondi de plus de 90 % et le taux de clics, de plus de 96,3 % par rapport à 2019. 

En savoir plus sur le Mois de la littératie financière

Dans le cadre de notre campagne CELI du mois d’août, les participants ont reçu des courriels personnalisés de notre coach numérique, Ella. La campagne était axée sur la résilience financière et incitait les participants à utiliser le CELI pour se doter d’un fonds d’urgence.

L’intervention d’Ella a connu un vif succès. Elle a obtenu l’engagement de plus de 7,3 millions de participants en 2020, soit 50 % de plus qu’en 2019. Grâce à Ella, les participants ont épargné 700 millions de dollars.

Dans le cadre de la campagne CELI, les promoteurs de régime ont reçu :

  • un dépliant pour les aider à promouvoir la campagne CELI auprès des participants;
  • une infographie illustrant les principales différences entre le REER et le CELI;
  • un dossier de réflexion sur l’utilisation des CELI dans les régimes collectifs et les avantages pour l’employeur et les participants.

En plus des campagnes d’épargne et de littératie financière ciblées, nous avons aussi proposé aux participants une série de webinaires sur l’éducation financière. En réponse à la COVID-19, nous avons organisé 91 séances d’information, soit une augmentation de 52 % par rapport à 2019.

Nous avons abordé 15 thèmes touchant le bien-être financier : 

  • Branchez-vous à votre argent
  • Préparer votre retraite
  • Investir : notions de base
  • Garder le cap en ces temps d’incertitude
  • Passer votre parcours financier en revue
  • Gérer votre épargne
  • Équilibrer vos finances : comprendre le crédit et les dettes
  • Épargner : notions de base
  • Testament et patrimoine
  • Votre santé et vos finances – Un continuum bien réel
  • Transitions et changements
  • 5 étapes pour améliorer votre santé financière
  • Élaborer votre stratégie de revenu de retraite
  • Planifier une réduction de revenu en contexte d’urgence
  • Faire un budget 101

Pour deux de ces webinaires, nous nous sommes associés à la Credit Counselling Society afin que les participants des régimes bénéficient directement de son savoir-faire.

Le taux de participation moyen à ces webinaires est passé de 119 personnes par séance en 2019 à 126 personnes en 2020 (augmentation de 6 %).

Plus de 11 000 participants ont assisté à un webinaire de la série, soit une augmentation de 49 % par rapport à 2019. Plusieurs (41 %) l’ont fait au cours de la première vague de la pandémie, en avril, mai et juin.

Regarder les webinaires sur le mieux-être financier

L’année dernière, nous avons lancé De temps et d’argent, un nouveau balado financier, sur Spotify. Le nombre d’auditeurs connaît une croissance constante d’un mois à l’autre. La série est animée par Stéphane Fallu, l’un des humoristes les plus appréciés du public.

À chaque épisode, il reçoit un nouvel invité qui nous raconte son parcours financier : ses réussites ou les obstacles qu’il a rencontrés et comment il les a vaincus.

Écouter le balado

Aperçu pour 2021

En 2021, Ella conseillera les participants en matière de préparation de la retraite, de sécurité financière et de mode de vie sain. Nous améliorerons aussi notre appli ma Sun Life mobile

Nous proposons actuellement toute une gamme de solutions de décaissement pour vos participants, mais nous continuerons d’élargir le soutien que nous offrons dans ce domaine. Nous allons :

  • mettre à jour les outils des participants;
  • améliorer notre offre de consultants-retraite et de services-conseils;
  • élargir les options de prestations variables au Québec;
  • contribuer au leadership éclairé de l’industrie, plus particulièrement pour les besoins en revenu de retraite et le soutien offert;
  • avec l’Association canadienne des compagnies d’assurances de personnes (ACCAP) et les organismes de réglementation, militer en faveur de l’innovation des produits.

Notre nouvel outil PlanalytiqueMD vous aidera à prendre des décisions basées sur les données concernant votre régime. Cette innovation dans la production de relevés pour les promoteurs vous permettra d’améliorer les résultats de votre régime.