Holistic support for health and financial goals

In pandemic-focused 2020, health and wellness were more important than ever. The uncertainty of the times led to increased mental, physical, and financial stress. At the height of the pandemic’s first wave, according to Sun Life COVID-19 and Mental Health OMNI Study, 56% of Canadians said that COVID-19 was having a negative impact on their mental health.

To address these specific needs during the pandemic, we provided families holistic support for broad financial needs in creating greater financial health and resilience. This support will not only help plan members throughout the pandemic; they’ll continue to provide benefits for many years to come. 

We also brought enhancements to our myWellness Rewards platform, and provided plan members with access to financial management, estate planning, health resources, and more. Our valued partnerships were critical to delivering this.

myWellness Rewards is our digital solution that can help your plan members manage their financial, physical, and mental health with sustainable change.

In 2020, we made it easier for plan members to use it, by integrating myWellness Rewards with other Sun Life tools. Specifically, we linked the tool with the:

  • Retirement Planner
  • Asset allocation tool
  • My plan, and
  • Budget calculator.

In addition, we enhanced plan sponsor reporting. The enhanced reporting offers a holistic view of member behavior changes through time. This improvement is a good indicator of whether the program is moving the needle on specific risk factors. 

In August, we launched the Lumino Health Centre on mysunlife.caThe Lumino Health Centre provides your plan members with access to Canada’s largest network of providers, credible health content, and discounts and offers.

This health support has had even greater importance during the pandemic. Resources like Lumino Health’s comprehensive Stress and Anxiety Guide helped thousands of plan members understand and manage their growing life stresses.

The launch embedded the Lumino Health platform – a Sun Life innovation – into our secure site. By making the platform even more accessible, we made it easier for plan members to live healthier lives.

Learn more about Lumino Health Centre

To conduct additional research and help determine the broader financial needs of plan members, we ran two pilot projects in 2020. We worked with Om to give plan members a chance to create an online will at a discounted fee. The easy online and guided process helped many plan members create a will that's ready to sign in under 18 minutes. Given creating wills can be daunting and complicated, the partnership offered an easy process welcomed by many of the plan members. The engagement was high with a strong interest in the offering. From those that started their account, 90% completed their profiles and 34% of those completed their online will.

We also piloted a project with Qtrade Investor to determine plan member interest in RESPs and whether they found the Qtrade experience easy and innovative. 

Financial stress affects many Canadians – but 2020 brought this stress to new levels. More than half (51%) of Canadians who said that the COVID-19 pandemic had affected their mental health cited financial worries as a key reason. (Source: Sun Life COVID-19 and Mental Health OMNI Study

That’s why we teamed up with the non-profit Credit Counselling Society (CCS) and the Credit Counselling Service of Atlantic Canada, Inc. to offer free credit counseling and debt management services during the pandemic. Hundreds of plan members took advantage of these services. The appointments were free, confidential and had no impact on a plan member’s credit report.

They also had access to the Debt Management Program. This program helps plan members consolidate debts into one monthly payment they can afford and become debt-free faster.

Learn about partnerships

In 2020, we hosted several plan member webinars related to health and wealth. Our webinars featured a spectrum of professionals who shared their knowledge and answered questions on the health and wealth topics important to plan members.

Topics included:

  • Managing anxiety as the world re-opens
  • Boosting our mental wellness
  • This year's back to school conversation
  • Moving forward: balancing credit and debt on your financial journey
  • Staying the course in changing times.

Webinars

2021 preview

The need for wellness supports will continue to grow in 2021. We’ll continue to evolve our wellness offering with a new myWellness Rewards app. We will also be evolving our plan member solutions with new partnership opportunities for tax support, budget spending/assistance, student loan repayment and identity theft protection. 

  • Bi-monthly Lumino Health newsletters to GRS plan members throughout 2021
  • The release of Lumino Health’s Staying Fit guide in February
  • The continuation of free credit counseling and debt management services

Soutien global pour la santé et les finances

La pandémie de 2020 a mis en lumière toute l’importance de la santé et du mieux-être. L’incertitude que nous vivons a augmenté le stress mental, physique et financier. Selon l’Étude omnicanal sur la COVID-19 et la santé mentale Sun Life, au plus fort de la première vague de la pandémie, 56 % des Canadiens estimaient que la COVID-19 avait des effets négatifs sur leur santé mentale.

Pour répondre à ces besoins particuliers dans le contexte de la pandémie, nous avons fourni aux familles un soutien global en finances personnelles, afin d’améliorer leur santé financière et leur résilience. L’aide apportée aux participants produira ses effets pendant de nombreuses années, bien après la fin de la pandémie. 

Nous avons également amélioré notre plateforme Récompenses monMieux-être et avons offert des ressources aux participants des régimes en matière de gestion financière, de planification successorale, de santé, etc. Cela n’aurait pas été possible sans nos précieux partenaires.

La plateforme Récompenses monMieux-être est une solution qui aide les participants de votre régime à mieux gérer leur santé financière, physique et mentale grâce à des changements durables.

En 2020, nous avons simplifié son utilisation par les participants en l’intégrant de ces autres outils de la Sun Life. Plus précisément, nous l’avons liée aux outils suivants :

  • Planificateur de retraite
  • Répartition de l’actif
  • mon plan
  • Calculateur de budget

Nous avons aussi amélioré les relevés des promoteurs de régime. Nous présentons maintenant une image globale de l’évolution des comportements des participants au fil du temps. C’est un bon indicateur pour savoir si le programme aide réellement à atténuer certains facteurs de risque. 

En août, nous avons lancé le Centre Lumino Santé sur masunlife.ca. Le Centre Lumino Santé permet à vos participants d’avoir accès au plus grand réseau de professionnels de la santé du Canada, à du contenu fiable sur la santé, à des rabais et à des offres.

La santé a pris encore plus d’importance pendant la pandémie. Des ressources utiles telles que le Guide sur le stress et l’anxiété de Lumino Santé ont aidé des milliers de participants à comprendre et à gérer la croissance du stress dans leur vie.

Nous avons intégré la plateforme Lumino Santé (une innovation de la Sun Life) à notre site sécurisé. En la rendant encore plus accessible, nous aidons les participants à atteindre un mode de vie sain.

En savoir plus sur le Centre Lumino Santé

En 2020, nous avons mené deux projets pilotes visant à faire avancer la recherche et à cibler les besoins financiers généraux des participants. Nous avons travaillé avec Om pour permettre aux participants de rédiger leur testament en ligne, à un prix réduit. Grâce à un processus en ligne simple et bien orienté, de nombreux participants ont pu rédiger un testament prêt à signer en moins de 18 minutes. Puisque la rédaction d’un testament peut être complexe et déroutante, la facilité du processus offert par ce partenariat a été bien accueillie par de nombreux participants. Le niveau d’engagement était élevé et l’offre a suscité un grand intérêt. Parmi ceux qui ont ouvert leur compte, 90 % ont rempli leur profil et 34 % ont rédigé leur testament en ligne.

Nous avons aussi mené un projet pilote avec Investisseur Qtrade afin de cibler les participants souhaitant cotiser à un REEE et de vérifier s’ils avaient trouvé l’expérience Qtrade facile et novatrice. 

Le stress financier touche de nombreux Canadiens, mais l’année 2020 a amplifié les choses. Parmi les Canadiens affirmant que la pandémie mine leur santé mentale, plus de la moitié (51 %) citent les problèmes financiers comme l’une des causes principales. (Source: l’Étude omnicanal sur la COVID-19 et la santé mentale Sun Life)

C’est pourquoi nous nous sommes associés aux organismes à but non lucratif Credit Counselling Society (CCS) et Services Crédit Conseil pour offrir gratuitement des conseils en matière d’utilisation du crédit et de gestion de l’endettement pendant la pandémie. Des centaines de participants ont utilisé ces services. Les rendez-vous étaient gratuits, confidentiels et n’avaient aucune incidence sur le dossier de crédit des participants.

Un programme de gestion de l’endettement était également offert. Il permettait aux participants de consolider leurs dettes en un seul paiement mensuel correspondant à leurs moyens financiers.

En savoir plus sur les partenariats

En 2020, nous avons tenu de nombreux webinaires sur la santé et les finances personnelles, à l’intention des participants. Dans nos webinaires, des professionnels partagent leurs connaissances et répondent à des questions sur des sujets importants pour les participants dans les domaines de la santé et des finances personnelles.

Voici les sujets qui ont été couverts :

  • La gestion de l’anxiété en contexte de déconfinement
  • Ensemble, prenons soin de notre santé mentale
  • Comment discuter du retour à l’école
  • Aller de l’avant – Équilibrer les dettes et le crédit pendant votre parcours financier
  • Garder le cap en ces temps d’incertitude

Webinaires

Aperçu pour 2021

Le besoin de soutien en mieux-être continuera de croître en 2021. Nous continuerons à faire évoluer notre offre avec une nouvelle appli Récompenses monMieux-être. Nous rehausserons également les solutions pour les participants grâce à de nouveaux partenariats axés sur le soutien fiscal, l’aide budgétaire, le remboursement des prêts étudiants et la protection contre le vol d’identité. 

  • des bulletins Lumino Santé bimestriels à l’intention des participants des RCR, tout au long de 2021;
  • un guide Lumino Santé pour garder la forme, en février;
  • le maintien des services-conseils gratuits sur la gestion du crédit et de l’endettement.