It’s what investors, Clients and employees are seeking. This playbook offers insights and actions you can take, no matter where your organization is on the sustainability journey. We’ll explore how having a sustainability strategy can improve outcomes relating to your plan, people, profits and the planet – and how Sun Life can help.

Why now?

The COVID-19 pandemic has underscored that the pursuit of profit cannot be the only driver of the economy. We can only speculate on the specific political, economic, and social consequences. What is clear is that today’s challenges will result in a shift in foundational principles for years to come.

The pandemic and many factors triggered by it have brought sustainability to the fore. These include volatile markets, social justice movements, accelerated digital transformation and growing urgency around the climate crisis. All these factors have caused a pause and rethinking of the status quo.

The pandemic has proven the viability of Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) priorities. It has elevated the significance of social factors over the shorter-term, and environmental factors in the long-term.1 A recent study showed that ESG has become an even greater focus for 23% of respondents. The perceived importance of social considerations has risen by 20% since the onset of the pandemic.2

The post-COVID recovery presents an opportunity to rebuild in a better way. Canada’s resource-rich economy is poised for transformation. With the right level of investment and commitment by governments and corporate leaders, it can meaningfully contribute to a more sustainable global future. This is relevant to how governments and businesses run their countries and companies. It’s also relevant to how we structure and administer group retirement plans. This includes the investments offered to plan members, as they seek to build a sustainable retirement income.

  • Responsible Investments represent 62% of Canada’s investment industry, up from 51% two years ago.7

The sustainability advantage

Over time, a sustainable business model creates value for stakeholders without depleting the natural, economic, and social capital it relies on. Especially in volatile times, sustainability offers a future-proof strategy that’s good for business: 

  • Improved financial performance due to ESG becomes more marked over a longer time horizon. A proxy model aggregating 1,000 studies suggests that with all else being constant, a long-term ESG focus is 76% more likely to find a positive or neutral result.3
  • It improves employee attraction and retention for those seeking to an employer whose values are aligned with their own. 80% of millennials say they want to work for socially responsible companies.4
  • It improves brand perception and loyalty, and attracts customers hoping to make a difference by voting with their wallets. 56% of consumers would pay more for a sustainable product.5

There is growing recognition that ESG factors are key drivers of value. Integrating these factors does not mean sacrificing returns. On the contrary, corporate profits and investment returns can actually be enhanced by adopting ESG principles. The MSCI Canada ESG Leaders Index outperformed the MSCI Canada Index in 10 of the past 12 years. This includes the period of volatility in Q1 2020.6 

These factors have likely helped convince 89% of plan sponsors to employ ESG principles in their investment strategy.8 There are also indications that access to sustainable investment options can improve plan participation and overall retirement outcomes. We found that 55% of Clients are likely to contribute more if their plan offered sustainable investing options.9

Sun Life’s experience

At Sun Life, our Purpose is to help our Clients achieve lifetime financial security and live healthier lives. Our approach to sustainability directly aligns to our business priorities and brings our Purpose to life. In 2019, we refocused our sustainability plan. The new plan is focused on our greatest opportunities to have a positive impact on society, while creating competitive advantage for our business:

  • Increasing financial security, including providing sustainable retirement income,
  • Fostering healthier lives, and
  • Advancing sustainable investing.

Key priorities and targets under our corporate plan include :

PRIORITIES TARGETS
Increasing the rigor of ESG integration into our investment processes and making sustainable investments. $20B of new investments in sustainable assets and businesses from 2021-2025.
Minimizing our environmental footprint and ensuring we are resilient against climate change risks. 30% greenhouse gas reduction by 2030 in corporate and investment real estate portfolios. Carbon neutral operations from 2021.
Promoting greater diversity, equity & inclusion. 50% women in Vice-President (VP)+ roles globally and 25% underrepresented ethnicities in VP+ roles in North America by 2025.

FIGHT, NOT FLIGHT:
OUR VIEW ON ESG INTEGRATION

  • Many people associate sustainable investing with the divestment of fossil fuels.
  • We don’t believe this the optimal approach. These companies are critical to the Canadian economy, and provide livelihoods to millions of people.
  • We support encouraging these companies to transform their business models to align to a more climate-friendly world.
  • Ultimately, we believe that engagement is more powerful than divestment.

Approaches to sustainable investing

Here is a summary of the primary approaches to sustainable investing:

ESG INTEGRATION

Embedding ESG data with traditional financial analysis of a company. This is the most common sustainable investing approach in Canada, and the approach Sun Life primarily utilizes.

DIVESTMENT

Exclude specific companies, industries or sectors based on personal values, ethical considerations, or negative ESG characteristics. Examples include: Socially Responsible (SRI) or Fossil Fuel Free fund.

SUSTAINABILITY FOCUSED

Focuses investing in specific areas, such as renewable energy, waste and water management, sustainable forestry and agriculture.

Group Retirement Services – driving sustainable outcomes

Within Group Retirement Services, these pillars encompass a range of products, services and innovations. You may already be familiar with many of these:

GRS: Driving sustainable outcomes

Sustainable investing

  • Proprietary ESG evaluation framework
  • Sponsor Review of ESG policies & investments
  • Thought Leadership, Insights & Advocacy

Financial security

  • Planalytics & Data Insights
  • Retirement Readiness
  • Decumulation Solutions
  • Digital Partnerships
  • Retirement Planning Tools & Advice

Healthier lives

  • myWellness Rewards
  • Wellness Bundle (includes Lumino Health Virtual Care)
  • Lumino Health
  • Mental Health Strategy

These pillars build on our foundation as a Trusted & Responsible Business:

  • Diversity & Inclusion Commitments
  • Paper to digital conversion
  • Reduction in carbon emissions
  • Privacy & cybersecurity principles

Here are some specific examples of how Group Retirement Services is advancing sustainability in our industry:

  • Conducting proactive conversations with plan sponsors to help them align their corporate sustainable strategy with their workplace savings plans.
  • Making it easy for sponsors to understand the current level of ESG integration in their plans.

As part of our ongoing governance activities, we evaluate and engage with investment managers on the following:

  • Firm policies (what do they believe in?) This includes ESG resources, reporting, diversity and inclusion practices, and continuous improvement efforts.
  • Investment process (how do they integrate ESG?) This includes qualitative and quantitative factors.
  • Active ownership (what do they do as investors?) This includes active ownership policy (engagement and proxy voting).

  • We’re working to embed sustainability through advocacy, through consultations with CAPSA to build ESG guidelines for CAP plans.
  • We’re engaging with the Department of Finance on proposals to integrate ESG factors in plan governance within federally-regulated pension plans.
  • We’re also consulting with regulators including OSFI, to offer input on recommendations for sustainable investment principles.

A closer look at our proprietary ESG evaluation framework

Sun Life Group Retirement Services is proud to offer a proprietary ESG evaluation framework. This robust framework is an extension of our ongoing investment governance activities. It identifies managers and funds who we believe are ESG Leaders. It also recognizes those who are evolving quickly.

A recent Sun Life survey found that 23% of Clients who purchased investments considered ESG factors.10 Among younger Clients aged 18-34, this increases to 38%.11 The framework has already classified many funds you may offer within your workplace plan as ESG Leader funds. These funds have proven to be popular choices among plan members, as seen in the summary below. Seventy-eight percent of Clients are interested in seeing more sustainable investments offered.12 

PLAN SPONSORS13

  • 89% of Canadian sponsors use ESG principles as part of their investment approach and decision-making.
  • 55% believe ESG portfolios are likely to outperform non-ESG investments.
  • 87% believe integrating ESG factors can help address risk.

INVESTMENT SOLUTIONS & FUNDS

  • 100% of our Core platform investment managers are PRI signatories.
  • 43% of Core investment fund families are classified as ESG leader funds.
  • ESG leader funds make up 54% of assets.
  • Sustainable investing options generally do not have higher investment management fees relative to traditional investment options.

In addition to the framework, Sun Life can offer the following support to plan sponsors:

  • Understanding the various approaches to sustainable investing.
  • Adopting a formal policy on your desired approach and helping document your selection of investment options for plan members.
  • Supporting the evaluation of your investment managers' efforts in ESG integration or dedicated sustainable investment products.

For plan members, we’ll integrate elements of the new ESG evaluation framework into each step of their journey. This allow for ease of understanding, application of ESG principles. We’re excited to share further details on the member experience over the coming months.

How you can start to build a sustainability strategy for your business

You may think your organization is too small – or too big – to put an effective sustainability strategy in place. Or, that this is simply not a good time to embark on a sustainability journey.

Companies may find themselves in different places on the sustainability continuum. While 60% of companies have a sustainability strategy, only 25% have developed a clear business case for their sustainability efforts.14 You may be just starting out or looking to re-evaluate your strategy. At every stage, we’re here to lend our expertise on sustainability to help you evaluate and define the opportunity for your organization. 

Here are the key steps to consider as you embark on your sustainability journey: 

  • Evaluate where you are on the journey

    As we’ve seen, you’re likely already employing sustainable practices within your business. Some areas may be more relevant than others, depending on the nature of your business.

  • Focus on what you know best

    These will typically be the areas of greatest impact. For example: a focus on mental health, diversity and equity, access to sustainable investments, green procurement or community relations. 

  • Identify key stakeholders

    Generally, investors, employees and customers are key, but there could be others, such as suppliers or the broader community. You can also work with government and within your industry to effect change. 

  • Align corporate and HR strategies

    Aligning corporate and HR strategies can increase engagement, productivity and innovation. Embed sustainability in your culture, values, branding, corporate voice, and the causes important to your organization. 

  • Mobilize senior leaders

    Creating partnerships and alliances with senior leaders can amplify and extend the impact of your program. It can help influence employees to get on board. It also fosters an emotional commitment to your strategy and values. 

  • Define and measure KPIs, re-evaluate

    Develop and deliver a sustainability program that includes prioritized initiatives, milestones, KPIs and measurable targets. Monitor and track progress, and re-evaluate if needed.

Although Sun Life has been a sustainability leader for some time, we believe we can do more to maximize our positive impact on society while creating business value. We’ve worked with various clients, at various stages, to implement a sustainability strategy and build more resilient workplace plans. While these clients have spanned many industries, and started out at very different points in the journey, all have been successful in their implementation. Although there are regulations that are currently being discussed, many organizations aren’t waiting for these to be mandated. They are being proactive in building resilient, sustainable plans – THE FUTURE IS NOW!

SOURCES:

1 Why COVID-19 is a litmus test for corporate attitudes to sustainability. World Economic Forum, October 2020.

2 BNP Paribas Asset Management survey shows Covid-19 prompts rise in social considerations within investment decision-making. BNP Paribas, July 2020.

3 ESG and Financial Performance: Uncovering the Relationship by Aggregating Evidence from 1,000 Plus Studies Published between 2015 – 2020. NYU Stern Centre for Sustainable Business and Rockefeller Asset Management, February 2021.

4 Murray, A. America’s CEOs Seek a New Purpose for the Corporation. Fortune Magazine, August 2019.

5 CGS 2020 Retail and Fashion Sustainability Survey. CGS, July 2020.

6 Index data source: MSCI. MSCI makes no express or implied warranties or representations and shall have no liability whatsoever with respect to any data contained herein. The index data may not be further redistributed or used as a basis for other indices or any securities of financial products. This report is not approved, reviewed or produced by the index provider. Sun Life makes no representations or warranties about the completeness, reliability, and accuracy of the index source data. Any action you take upon reliance of the index source data is strictly at your own risk.

7 2020 Canadian RI Trends Report. Responsible Investing Association, November 2020.

8 2020 Responsible Investing Survey. RBC Global Asset Management, October 2020.

9 Sustainability & Importance of ESG Investing. Sun Life, April 202110 Canadian Market Research Study. Sun Life, January 2021

10 Canadian Market Research Study. Sun Life, January 2021.

11 Sustainability & Importance of ESG Investing. Sun Life, April 2021.

12 Sustainability & Importance of ESG Investing. Sun Life, April 2021.

13  2020 Responsible Investing Survey, Canadian Results. RBC Global Asset Management, October 2020.

14 Sustainability at a Crossroads: Progress Toward Our Common Future in Uncertain Times. MIT Sloan Management Review in collaboration with the Boston Consulting Group, May 2017.

C’est ce que recherchent les investisseurs, les Clients et les employés. Ce guide propose des idées et des mesures à prendre, où qu’en soit votre organisation dans son axé sur la durabilité. Nous allons examiner comment une stratégie de durabilité peut améliorer les choses – pour votre régime et vos bénéfices, mais aussi pour les gens et la planète – et comment la Sun Life peut vous aider.

Pourquoi maintenant?

La pandémie de COVID-19 a mis en évidence que la recherche de bénéfices ne peut être le seul moteur de l’économie. Nous ne pouvons que spéculer sur les conséquences politiques, économiques et sociales qui en découleront. Une chose est toutefois évidente : les défis actuels auront pour effet de modifier les principes de base pour les années à venir.

La pandémie et les nombreux facteurs qu’elle a déclenchés ont contribué à mettre la durabilité au premier plan. Pensons à la volatilité des marchés, aux mouvements de justice sociale, au virage numérique accéléré et à l’urgence grandissante de la crise climatique. Tous ces facteurs nous ont forcés à nous arrêter et à repenser le statu quo.

La pandémie a démontré la viabilité des priorités environnementales, sociales et de gouvernance (ESG). Elle a amplifié l’importance des facteurs sociaux à court terme et des facteurs environnementaux à long terme1. Par exemple, 23 % des répondants d’une étude récente indiquent accorder une priorité encore plus grande aux facteurs ESG. L’importance rattachée aux facteurs sociaux a augmenté de 20 % depuis le début de la pandémie2.

L’après-COVID 19 est l’occasion de rebâtir en faisant mieux. L’économie riche en ressources du Canada est prête pour une transformation. Et un niveau approprié d’investissements et d’engagement de la part des gouvernements et des chefs d’entreprise est crucial. Il peut en effet grandement contribuer à un avenir durable à l’échelle mondiale. Cela a un rapport direct avec la façon de diriger des gouvernements et des entreprises. C’est aussi lié à notre façon de structurer et de gérer les régimes collectifs de retraite. Et cela comprend les placements que nous offrons aux participants qui cherchent à se constituer un revenu de retraite durable.

  • Les placements responsables représentent 62 % du secteur canadien des placements. C’est une hausse par rapport à il y a 2 ans, où cette proportion était de 51 %7.

L’avantage de la durabilité

Au fil du temps, un modèle d’affaires durable crée de la valeur sans pour autant épuiser le capital naturel, économique et social dont il dépend. La durabilité offre une stratégie à l’épreuve du temps qui favorise les affaires, particulièrement en période de volatilité : 

  • L’amélioration des rendements financiers attribuable aux facteurs ESG est plus marquée avec un horizon de placement à long terme. Un modèle de substitution regroupant 1 000 études donne à penser, toutes choses étant égales par ailleurs, que de mettre l’accent sur les facteurs ESG à long terme aurait 76 % plus de chances de produire un résultat positif ou neutre3.
  • La durabilité améliore la capacité d’attirer et de garder les employés qui cherchent un employeur ayant des valeurs alignées sur les leurs. D’ailleurs, 80 % des millénariaux disent vouloir travailler pour des entreprises socialement responsables4.
  • Elle améliore la perception de la marque et la fidélité à celle-ci. De plus, elle attire les consommateurs qui espèrent faire évoluer les choses en votant avec leur portefeuille. Un sondage indique que 56 % des consommateurs seraient prêts à payer plus pour un produit durable5.

Il est de plus en plus reconnu que les facteurs ESG sont des moteurs de valeur clés. Les intégrer ne signifie pas sacrifier les rendements. Au contraire, l’adoption des principes ESG peut en fait accroître les bénéfices des entreprises et les revenus de placement. L’indice MSCI Canada ESG Leaders a surpassé l’indice MSCI Canada au cours de 10 des 12 dernières années. Et ce, notamment durant la période de volatilité du premier trimestre de 20206

Ces facteurs ont probablement aidé à convaincre 89 % des promoteurs de régime d’adopter les principes ESG dans leur stratégie de placement8. Il semblerait aussi que l’accès à des options de placements durables puisse améliorer la participation aux régimes et les résultats à la retraite. Nous avons découvert que 55 % des Clients étaient susceptibles de cotiser davantage si leur régime offrait des options de placements durables9.

L’expérience de la Sun Life

Notre raison d’être est d’aider nos Clients à atteindre une sécurité financière durable et un mode de vie sain. Notre approche de la durabilité est directement alignée sur nos priorités d’affaires et donne vie à notre raison d’être. En 2019, nous avons recentré notre plan de durabilité. Notre nouveau plan veut tirer parti des meilleures occasions d’exercer une incidence positive sur la société, tout en nous offrant un avantage concurrentiel :

  • accroître la sécurité financière, notamment fournir un revenu de retraite durable;
  • encourager un mode de vie sain;
  • promouvoir les placements durables.

Nos priorités et cibles principales au titre de notre plan d’entreprise sont les suivantes :

PRIORITÉS CIBLES
Intensifier la rigueur de l’intégration des facteurs ESG dans nos processus de placement et effectuer des placements durables. Que 20 G$ des nouveaux placements soient des actifs et des entreprises durables, de 2021 à 2025.
Réduire le plus possible notre empreinte écologique et faire preuve de résilience face aux risques liés aux changements climatiques. Réduire de 30 % les émissions de gaz à effet de serre de nos installations et actifs immobiliers d’ici 2030. Être une entreprise carboneutre à partir de 2021.
Promouvoir une diversité, une équité et une inclusion accrues. Atteindre une proportion de 50 % de femmes à des postes de vice-président ou d’un échelon supérieur, à l’échelle mondiale, et une proportion de 25 % de personnes de groupes ethniques sous-représentés à des postes de vice-président ou d’un échelon supérieur, en Amérique du Nord, d’ici 2025.

S’ENGAGER, PLUTÔT QUE DE FUIR :
NOTRE VISION DE L’INTÉGRATION DES FACTEURS ESG

  • Bien des gens associent les placements durables à un désinvestissement dans les combustibles fossiles.
  • Nous ne croyons pas que ce soit l’approche optimale. Ces compagnies sont essentielles à l’économie canadienne et représentent le gagne-pain de millions de personnes.
  • Nous les encourageons à transformer leur modèle d’affaires en un modèle aligné sur un monde respectueux de l’environnement.
  • Au bout du compte, nous sommes convaincus que l’engagement est plus puissant que le désinvestissement.

Nos approches de l’investissement durable

Voici un résumé de nos principales approches d’investissement durable :

INTÉGRATION DES FACTEURS ESG

Intégration des facteurs ESG avec une analyse financière traditionnelle de l’entreprise. C’est l’approche d’investissement durable la plus courante au Canada et celle que la Sun Life utilise généralement.

DÉSINVESTISSEMENT

 

Exclusion de certaines entreprises ou industries ou de certains secteurs selon des considérations personnelles ou éthiques, ou selon des caractéristiques ESG négatives. Par exemple : investissements socialement responsables ou sans combustibles fossiles.

AXÉ SUR LA DURABILITÉ

 

Accent sur des catégories particulières (énergies renouvelables, gestion des déchets et de l’eau, pratiques agricoles et forestières durables).

Régimes collectifs de retraite – Produire des résultats durables

Aux Régimes collectifs de retraite (RCR), ces piliers englobent un éventail de produits, de services et d’innovations. Vous en connaissez peut-être déjà :

RCR: Produire des résultats durables

Placements durables

  • Cadre exclusif d’évaluation des facteurs ESG 
  • Examen par les promoteurs des politiques et des placements axés sur les facteurs ESG
  • Leadership éclairé, information et défense des intérêts

Sécurité financière

  • Planalytique et données 
  • Préparation à la retraite
  • Solutions de décaissement
  • Partenariats numériques
  • Outils et conseils pour la planification de la retraite

Mode de vie sain

  • Récompenses monMieux-être
  • Programme de mieux-être (Soins virtuels Lumino Santé)
  • Lumino Santé 
  • Stratégie en santé mentale

Ces piliers misent sur qui nous sommes à la base, une entreprise fiable et responsable :

  • Engagements à l’égard de la diversité et de l’inclusion
  • Passage du papier au numérique
  • Réduction des émissions de carbone
  • Principes en matière de protection des renseignements personnels et de cybersécurité

Voici des exemples bien précis de façons dont les RCR font progresser la durabilité dans notre secteur :

  • Avoir des conversations proactives avec les promoteurs pour les aider à harmoniser leur stratégie d’entreprise durable avec leurs régimes.
  • Faire que les promoteurs puissent plus facilement comprendre le niveau actuel d’intégration des facteurs ESG dans leurs régimes.

Dans le cadre de nos activités courantes de gouvernance, nous évaluons les gestionnaires et abordons les sujets suivants :

  • Politiques de la société (quelles sont les convictions des gestionnaires?). Pratiques en matière de ressources ESG, de déclaration, de diversité et d’inclusion, et activités d’amélioration continue.
  • Processus de placement (comment intègrent-ils les facteurs ESG?). Facteurs qualitatifs et quantitatifs.
  • Actionnariat actif (que font-ils en tant qu’investisseurs?). Politique sur l’actionnariat actif (engagement et vote par procuration).

  • Nous travaillons à incorporer la durabilité par des activités de défense des intérêts et par des consultations avec l’ACOR. Nous prônons la mise en place de lignes directrices sur les facteurs ESG pour les régimes de capitalisation.
  • Nous discutons avec le ministère des Finances de propositions d’intégration des facteurs ESG dans la politique de gouvernance des régimes de retraite régis par le fédéral.
  • Nous menons aussi des consultations auprès des organismes de réglementation, dont le BSIF. Nous offrons de commenter les recommandations de principes de placement durable.

Notre cadre exclusif d’évaluation des facteurs ESG en détail

Les RCR de la Sun Life sont fiers d'offrir un cadre d'évaluation ESG exclusif. Ce solide cadre est une extension de nos activités continues de gouvernance des placements. Il identifie les gestionnaires et les fonds qui, selon nous, sont des meneurs en matière de facteurs ESG. Il reconnaît aussi ceux qui évoluent rapidement.

Un récent sondage de la Sun Life révèle un fait intéressant. Parmi les Clients qui ont acheté des placements, 23 % ont tenu compte des facteurs ESG10. Chez les jeunes Clients de 18 à 34 ans, cette proportion passe à 38 %11. Le cadre a déjà permis de classer de nombreux fonds que votre régime offre peut-être comme des meneurs ESG. Comme l’indique le résumé ci-dessous, ces fonds se sont révélés populaires chez les participants. Et 78 % des Clients souhaiteraient que plus de placements durables leur soient offerts12.

 

 

PROMOTEURS DE RÉGIME13

  • 89 % des promoteurs canadiens adoptent les principes ESG dans leur approche de placement et leur prise de décisions.
  • 55 % croient que les portefeuilles de fonds ESG auront probablement un rendement supérieur aux autres portefeuilles.
  • 87 % sont persuadés qu’il est plus facile de gérer le risque si l’on intègre les facteurs ESG.

SOLUTIONS DE PLACEMENTS ET FONDS

  • 100 % des gestionnaires de notre plateforme de placements de base sont signataires des Principes pour l’investissement responsable (PIR).
  • 43 % des familles de fonds de placement de base sont classées comme des familles de meneurs ESG.
  • Les fonds meneurs ESG représentent 54 % des actifs.
  • Les frais de gestion des options de placements durables ne sont généralement pas supérieurs à ceux des options traditionnelles.

En plus du cadre d’évaluation, la Sun Life peut offrir aux promoteurs de régime comme vous le soutien suivant :

  • Comprendre les diverses approches de placements durables
  • Adopter une politique formelle sur l’approche que vous visez, et documenter votre sélection d’options de placement offertes aux participants
  • Évaluer les efforts des gestionnaires de placements concernant l’intégration des facteurs ESG ou les produits de placements durables spécialisés

Et pour les participants, nous incorporerons des éléments du nouveau cadre d’évaluation des facteurs ESG à chaque étape de leur parcours. Il leur sera ainsi plus facile de comprendre et d’appliquer les principes ESG. Nous serons heureux de pouvoir vous donner plus de détails sur l’expérience du participant au cours des prochains mois.

Comment vous pouvez commencer à élaborer une stratégie de durabilité pour votre entreprise

Vous pensez peut-être qu’il n’est pas utile d’établir une stratégie de durabilité efficace parce que votre organisation est trop petite – ou trop grande. Ou que le moment est simplement mal choisi pour entamer un parcours axé sur la durabilité.

Les entreprises peuvent se trouver à différents stades du continuum de la durabilité. Bien que 60 % d’entre elles aient adopté une stratégie de durabilité, seulement 25 % proposent une analyse de rentabilité claire pour leurs activités de durabilité14. Vous ne faites peut-être que commencer ou souhaitez simplement réévaluer votre stratégie. À chaque étape, nous mettons à votre service notre expertise en matière de durabilité pour que vous puissiez évaluer et définir les occasions qui s’offrent à votre organisation.

Voici les principales étapes à considérer au moment d’entamer votre parcours axé sur la durabilité :

  • Évaluez où vous en êtes dans votre parcours

    Comme nous l’avons vu, il est probable que vous employiez déjà des pratiques durables au sein de votre entreprise. Certains secteurs sont peut-être plus pertinents que d’autres selon la nature de votre entreprise.

  • Concentrez-vous sur ce que vous connaissez le mieux

    Il s’agit normalement des secteurs qui ont le plus d’impact. Par exemple, vous pourriez vous concentrer sur la santé mentale, la diversité et l’équité, l’accès aux placements durables, l’approvisionnement de produits écologiques ou les relations au sein de la communauté.

  • Reconnaissez les principaux intervenants

    En général, les investisseurs, les employés et les Clients sont les principaux intervenants, mais il pourrait y en avoir d’autres : les fournisseurs, la communauté élargie, etc. Vous pouvez aussi travailler avec les gouvernements et au sein même de votre industrie pour apporter des changements. 

  • Harmonisez les stratégies de l’entreprise et de RH

    L’harmonisation des stratégies de l’entreprise et de RH favorise l’engagement, la productivité et l’innovation. Intégrez la durabilité à votre culture, à vos valeurs, à votre image de marque, à la voix de votre entreprise et aux causes importantes pour votre organisation. 

  • Mobilisez les hauts dirigeants

    En établissant des partenariats et des alliances avec les hauts dirigeants, vous pourriez amplifier et élargir l’impact de votre programme. Par la même occasion, vous pourriez aussi favoriser l’adhésion des employés et susciter un engagement émotionnel à l’égard de votre stratégie et de vos valeurs. 

  • Définissez et évaluez les ICR; réévaluez

    Élaborez et proposez un programme de durabilité comprenant des initiatives, des jalons, des ICR et des cibles mesurables dont l’ordre de priorité a été établi. Surveillez-le, suivez les progrès réalisés et réévaluez-le, au besoin.

Il est vrai que la Sun Life est un chef de file en matière de durabilité depuis un certain temps déjà. Nous croyons, toutefois, pouvoir faire plus pour maximiser l’impact positif que nous avons sur la société tout en créant de la valeur pour l’entreprise. Nous avons travaillé avec une variété de Clients, à diverses étapes de leur parcours, pour mettre en place une stratégie de durabilité et bâtir des régimes collectifs plus résilients. Et bien que ces Clients œuvrent dans différentes industries et aient entamé leur parcours à des étapes différentes, ils ont tous réussi à adopter une stratégie de durabilité. Certaines dispositions de la réglementation font actuellement l’objet de pourparlers, mais de nombreuses organisations n’attendront pas qu’elles deviennent obligatoires. Elles veulent être proactives et bâtir des régimes résilients et durables – L’AVENIR EST DÉJÀ LÀ!

SOURCES:

1 Why COVID-19 is a litmus test for corporate attitudes to sustainability, Forum économique mondial, octobre 2020.

2 BNP Paribas Asset Management survey shows Covid-19 prompts rise in social considerations within investment decision-making, BNP Paribas, juillet 2020.

3 ESG and Financial Performance: Uncovering the Relationship by Aggregating Evidence from 1,000 Plus Studies Published between 2015 – 2020, NYU Stern Centre for Sustainable Business and Rockefeller Asset Management, février 2021.

4 MURRAY, A., America’s CEOs Seek a New Purpose for the Corporation, Fortune Magazine, août 2019.

5 CGS 2020 Retail and Fashion Sustainability Survey, CGS, juillet 2020.

6 Données sources des indices : MSCI. MSCI ne fournit aucune garantie ni déclaration explicite ou implicite en ce qui concerne les données présentées et n’accepte aucune responsabilité que ce soit à cet égard. Les données ne peuvent être redistribuées ni utilisées pour d’autres indices, titres ou produits financiers. Le présent document n’a pas été approuvé, examiné, ni produit par le fournisseur des indices. La Sun Life n’offre aucune garantie et ne fait aucune déclaration quant à la fiabilité, à l’exhaustivité et à l’exactitude des données sources des indices. Toute décision que vous prenez en fonction des données sources des indices est à vos propres risques.

7 Rapport de tendances de l’investissement responsable canadien 2020, Association pour l’investissement responsable, novembre 2020.

8 Sondage sur l’investissement responsable 2020, RBC Gestion mondiale d’actifs, octobre 2020.

9 Sustainability & Importance of ESG Investing, Sun Life, avril 2021.

10 Canadian Market Research Study, Sun Life, janvier 2021.

11 Sustainability & Importance of ESG Investing, Sun Life, avril 2021.

12 Sustainability & Importance of ESG Investing, Sun Life, avril 2021.

13 Sondage sur l’investissement responsable 2020 (résultats pour le Canada), RBC Gestion mondiale d’actifs, octobre 2020.

14 Sustainability at a Crossroads: Progress Toward Our Common Future in Uncertain Times, MIT Sloan Management Review en collaboration avec le Boston Consulting Group, mai 2017.