Health and dental

Health and dental

Updated: April 30, 2021

In April 2020, we let you know that we’d temporarily reimburse virtual dental assessments while dental offices were open for emergency treatments only. As a reminder, our standard dental contracts cover emergency dental services, but not virtual assessments.

In consultation with dental associations across Canada, we made a temporary change. We began reimbursing virtual dental assessments using the dental codes recommended by the Canadian Dental Association (CDA), and the Association des chirurgiens dentistes du Québec (ACDQ).

Dental offices in Canada have since reopened for regular visits. However, provinces and territories are now experiencing a third wave of COVID-19 variants. As a result, we’ll continue to reimburse virtual dental assessments covered by these codes for the duration of the pandemic. We’ll continue to monitor the situation, and re-evaluate once the pandemic is over.

Plan members can contact our Client Care Centre at 1-800-361-6212 if they have questions about their claims.

Updated: April 13, 2021

Making sure that plan members continue to get the care and treatment they need is our top priority.

We know that plan members may still have limited access to their regular health-care providers. For this reason, it may be difficult for plan members to update prescriptions, referrals and other documents.  Plan members need these documents to support certain health care claims.

For documents expiring before June 30, 2021

If any such documents expire before June 30, we’ll still pay your plan members’ claims. This includes:

  • Prescriptions, nurse practitioner or doctor referrals for paramedical services
  • Drug exception forms, which includes prior authorization and special authorization

As a reminder, we’ll accept copies of drug exception forms

We don’t require original signatures. For example, your plan members can print their forms, sign them and then submit a photograph of that document. They can send them to us using the my Sun Life mobile app. They also have the option to send forms to us by mail or fax. We’ve created this Health & Dental flyer for you to share with plan members.

We’ll apply our usual requirements on July 1, 2021

Starting in April, we’ll send a letter to plan members having drug exceptions on file that are about to expire. The letter will advise the plan member on next steps to continue coverage for their drug exception.

Updated: June 3, 2021

The Canadian rollout of COVID-19 vaccines is in full swing. You and your employees may have questions about whether getting the vaccine impacts group benefits coverage. Check out our Vaccine FAQ. It covers key questions and concerns about vaccines and benefits coverage.

For more information on COVID-19 vaccines, please visit Lumino Health or the Government of Canada

Updated: December 18, 2020

Earlier this year, we made the decision to extend our over-age student coverage until December 31, 2020.

We’re now further extending our over-age student coverage until the end of the winter school term 2021. For students returning to school in September 2021, plan sponsors may allow coverage to continue through the summer months. This is to help students who qualify remain healthy and safe.

Dependents must meet all of the following criteria to qualify for over-age student coverage:

  • Be a full-time student between the ages of 21 and 25 (26 in Quebec), or the age limit defined in your contract
  • Be a current student or plan to return to an educational institution recognized under the Income Tax Act. Clients can find accredited educational institutions in Canada here.
  • Be dependent on a plan member for support.
  • Have provincial healthcare coverage.

How to update your over-age dependent information

You can identify dependents by running an over-age dependent report on the Plan Sponsor Services site.

Please ask your employees to provide you with an updated proof of studies or have them confirm their dependent’s intention to return to school before September 1, 2021. Then update any over-age dependent information.

For information about students studying abroad, please refer to updates on Out-of-country coverage.

Updated: June 29, 2020

COVID-19 has created new health and safety standards for many health care providers. All health care providers must follow these additional standards as set by their associations, regulatory bodies, and levels of government. Please read this communication for information on personal protective equipment (PPE) and group benefits plans.

Updated June 15, 2020

We know that in-person visits to many health-care providers may not be available during the COVID-19 pandemic. We want to ensure plan members continue to receive the health care they need. Now, we’ll cover virtual services for appointments where they do not need direct physical therapies. We’re extending claims coverage for virtual services performed by:

  • Audiologists
  • Chiropodists
  • Chiropractors
  • Naturopaths
  • Occupational Therapists
  • Osteopaths
  • Podiatrists
  • Psychologists
  • Psychotherapists
  • Physiotherapists
  • Registered Dieticians
  • Social Workers
  • Speech Therapists

The practitioner must be in Canada for us to pay claims. Existing coverage remains the same.

We continue to assess other potential virtual services. We’ll keep you informed of any changes.

Making a claim is easy with a photo of the receipt

You can submit a claim on mysunlife.ca or through the my Sun Life mobile app.

To make a claim for a virtual service:

  • Select the type of service
  • Select the location of service
  • For any virtual appointments, select “virtual visit” as the location of service

We have created this Virtual Care flyer for you to share with plan members.

Updated: April 17, 2020

We’re pleased to provide two new solutions that can help plan members during the current pandemic and beyond.

We’re now covering nurse practitioner prescriptions for specialist referrals and medical expenses. And we’ve put a work-around in place for plan members who can’t print-off online health forms.

This Focus Update explains more. And this flyer on new solutions provides details for your plan members.

Updated April 27, 2020

Ontario is the only province with an Assistive Devices Program (ADP).  This program helps residents with a long-term physical disability pay for assistive devices. These include walkers, wheelchairs, hearing aids and many other aids. Ontario residents can receive a payment equal to 75% of the approved cost of these devices. They must apply to the ADP for this payment.  Here’s how it works:

  • Plan members go to an ADP-approved specialist (such as an occupational therapist).
  • The ADP specialist completes and submits the ADP form to an ADP-approved vendor.
  • The vendor would then submit the form to the ADP to receive their 75% reimbursement and charge the member the balance.
  • Once the ADP approves the plan member’s claim, we would then pay the remaining 25% of the claim’s balance.

With most specialist offices now closed, plan members are often unable to have their ADP forms completed. Until July 31, they should still submit a claim or estimate to us for approval. For eligible claims, we will cover the claim or estimate, even without prior ADP approval.

Frais médicaux et dentaires

Frais médicaux et dentaires

Mise à jour : le 30 avril 2021

En avril 2020, nous vous avons informé que, pendant que les cabinets de dentistes étaient uniquement ouverts pour des soins d’urgence, nous remboursions temporairement les frais engagés pour des évaluations dentaires virtuelles. À titre de rappel, nos garanties Frais dentaires standards couvrent les soins dentaires d’urgence, mais pas les évaluations virtuelles.

Après avoir discuté avec les associations dentaires de partout au Canada, nous avions mis en place un changement temporaire. Nous remboursions les évaluations dentaires virtuelles en utilisant les codes dentaires recommandés par l’Association dentaire canadienne et l’Association des chirurgiens-dentistes du Québec.

Les cabinets de dentistes ont depuis rouvert pour les visites habituelles. Toutefois, les provinces et les territoires sont maintenant aux prises avec la troisième vague de COVID-19. Par conséquent, nous continuerons de rembourser les évaluations dentaires virtuelles couvertes au titre de ces codes pendant la pandémie. Nous surveillerons la situation et la réévaluerons une fois la pandémie terminée.

Les participants qui ont des questions sur leurs demandes de règlement peuvent communiquer avec notre Centre de service à la clientèle au 1-800-361-6212.

Mise à jour : le 13 avril 2021

Notre priorité est que les participants continuent de recevoir les soins dont ils ont besoin.

Nous savons que les participants peuvent encore avoir un accès limité à leurs professionnels de la santé. Pour cette raison, faire renouveler une ordonnance ou une recommandation, ou obtenir un document nécessaire à une demande de règlement peut être difficile. Les participants doivent avoir ces documents pour appuyer leurs demandes de règlement.

Documents qui expirent d’ici le 30 juin 2021

Si un de ces documents expire avant le 30 juin 2021, nous accepterons quand même les demandes de règlement.

Cela vise :

  • les ordonnances ou recommandations produites par une infirmière praticienne ou un médecin pour des services paramédicaux;
  • les formulaires de demande d’exception pour des médicaments, y compris les autorisations préalables et les autorisations spéciales.

Rappelons que nous acceptons les copies des formulaires de demande d’exception

Nous n’exigeons pas le formulaire original signé. Par exemple, vos participants peuvent imprimer leur formulaire, le signer et prendre une photo de ce document. Ils peuvent nous les envoyer par l’appli ma Sun Life mobile. Ils peuvent aussi les envoyer par la poste ou par télécopieur. Nous avons rédigé un document sur les règlements de frais médicaux et dentaires à envoyer aux participants.

Nous appliquerons nos exigences habituelles à compter du 1er juillet 2021

À partir d’avril, nous enverrons des lettres aux participants qui ont dans leur dossier des demandes d’exception sur le point d’expirer. Nous leur indiquerons les mesures à prendre pour que leurs médicaments demeurent couverts.

Mise à jour : le 3 juin 2021

Le déploiement des vaccins contre la COVID-19 au Canada bat son plein. Vos employés et vous-même vous demandez peut-être si la vaccination change quelque chose à la couverture de votre régime de garanties collectives. Consultez notre FAQ sur les vaccins. Vous y trouverez la réponse à des questions importantes concernant les vaccins et les garanties collectives.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les vaccins contre la COVID-19, veuillez consulter le site Lumino Santé ou celui du gouvernement du Canada.

Mise à jour : le 18 décembre 2020

Plus tôt cette année, en raison de la COVID-19, nous avons prolongé jusqu’au 31 décembre 2020 la couverture pour les étudiants ayant dépassé l’âge limite.

Nous annonçons maintenant que nous prolongeons la couverture jusqu’à la fin du trimestre d’hiver 2021. Pour les étudiants qui retourneront à l’école en septembre 2021, les promoteurs de régime pourront prolonger la couverture pendant les mois d’été. Nous voulons aider les étudiants admissibles à rester en santé.

Pour être admissible à la couverture des personnes à charge, l’étudiant ayant dépassé l’âge limite doit satisfaire à tous les critères suivants :

  • Être un étudiant à temps plein de 21 à 25 ans (26 ans au Québec), ou ayant l’âge limite défini dans le contrat
  • Être inscrit ou prévoir s’inscrire dans un établissement d’enseignement reconnu par la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (Canada). Cliquez ici pour consulter le répertoire des établissements reconnus au Canada
  • Dépendre d’un participant financièrement
  • Être couvert par un régime provincial d’assurance-maladie

Comment mettre à jour les renseignements sur les personnes à charge ayant dépassé l’âge limite?

Vous pouvez créer une liste des personnes à charge ayant dépassé l’âge limite sur le site des promoteurs.

Demandez à vos employés de fournir une nouvelle preuve de la situation d’étudiant ou de confirmer l’intention des personnes à leur charge de retourner à l’école avant le 1er janvier 2021. Ensuite, mettez à jour les renseignements sur les personnes à charge ayant dépassé l’âge limite.

Pour en savoir plus sur les étudiants à l’étranger, veuillez consulter les mises à jour sur les Frais engagés hors du pays.

Mise à jour : le 29 juin 2020

La COVID-19 a entraîné l’instauration de normes de santé et de sécurité additionnelles pour de nombreux fournisseurs de soins de santé. Tous les fournisseurs doivent respecter les nouvelles normes établies par leurs associations, leurs organismes de réglementation ou les différents ordres de gouvernement. Veuillez lire cette communication pour obtenir de l’information sur l’équipement de protection individuelle et les régimes de garanties collectives.

Mise à jour : le 15 juin 2020

Il peut être difficile de visiter un professionnel de la santé durant la pandémie de COVID-19. Comme nous voulons que les participants continuent à recevoir les soins dont ils ont besoin, nous avons décidé de couvrir les services virtuels. Cela concerne les rendez-vous où un traitement physique direct n’est pas nécessaire. Nous étendons donc la couverture aux services virtuels offerts par les professionnels suivants :

  • Audiologistes
  • Chiropodistes
  • Chiropraticiens
  • Diététistes autorisés
  • Ergothérapeutes
  • Naturopathes
  • Orthophonistes
  • Ostéopathes
  • Podiatres
  • Psychologues
  • Psychothérapeutes
  • Physiothérapeutes
  • Travailleurs sociaux

Le professionnel doit être au Canada pour que les services soient couverts. La couverture actuelle demeure inchangée.

Nous continuons à évaluer d’autres services virtuels. Nous vous informerons de tout changement.

Photographier le reçu et présenter une demande de règlement

Vous pouvez le faire sur masunlife.ca ou avec l’appli mobile.

Pour présenter une demande de ce type :

  • Sélectionnez le type de service
  • Sélectionnez l’endroit où le service a été donné.
  • Dans le cas des rendez-vous virtuels, sélectionnez « Rendez-vous virtuel » comme lieu du service.

Nous vous invitons à diffuser ce document sur les soins virtuels auprès des participants.

Mise à jour : le 17 avril 2020

Nous sommes heureux de vous offrir deux nouvelles solutions qui pourront aider les participants durant et après la pandémie actuelle.

Nous couvrirons maintenant les honoraires de spécialistes et les frais médicaux engagés sur la recommandation d’une infirmière praticienne ou d’un infirmier praticien. De plus, nous avons mis en place une solution de rechange pour les participants qui ne peuvent pas imprimer de formulaires médicaux en ligne.

Le bulletin Intérêts en bref donne plus d’explications. En outre, ce dépliant sur les nouvelles solutions fournit des précisions aux participants de votre régime.

Mise à jour : le 27 avril 2020

L’Ontario est la seule province offrant un Programme d’appareils et accessoires fonctionnels (PAAF). Ce programme aide les résidents ayant une déficience physique de longue durée à payer les appareils et accessoires fonctionnels. Cela comprend les déambulateurs, les fauteuils roulants, les prothèses auditives et de nombreux autres accessoires. Les résidents de l’Ontario peuvent recevoir un paiement égal à 75 % du coût approuvé de ces appareils. Pour cela, ils doivent faire une demande au titre du PAAF. Voici comment cela fonctionne :

  • Le participant se rend chez un spécialiste approuvé par le PAAF (comme un ergothérapeute).
  • Le spécialiste remplit le formulaire du PAAF et l’envoie à un fournisseur autorisé.
  • Le fournisseur envoie le formulaire au PAAF pour recevoir un remboursement de 75 %, et facture la différence au participant.
  • Une fois que la demande du participant au titre du PAAF est approuvée, nous remboursons le solde de 25 %.

La plupart des bureaux de spécialistes étant actuellement fermés, les participants sont souvent dans l’impossibilité de faire remplir leur formulaire du PAAF. Jusqu’au 31 juillet, ils doivent quand même nous présenter une demande de règlement ou une estimation en vue d’une approbation. Si leur demande est admissible, nous couvrirons les frais ou l’estimation, même sans avoir obtenu l’approbation préalable du PAAF.