Insurance Tax Solutions - Articles & Publications

Real solutions for your business from the tax, wealth & insurance planning group at Sun Life Financial - Financial Advisor
Blog Posts
Life Insurance in Canada
Cross Border Tax
Life Insurance Tax Changes & Grandfathered Policies
Estate Planning Matters
Trusts
Life Insurance Policy Transfers
Probate & Estate Taxation
Family Tax & Personal Financial Planning
Corporate-owned Life Insurance Matters
Federal & Provincial Budget Commentaries
Team Biographies

Mark L. Arruda, BMATH, FCIA, FSA, CERA, FEA
AVP, Insurance Product Management

In his current role as Assistant Vice President, Insurance Product Management, Sun Life Financial, Mark is responsible for the company's life product shelf (including design and pricing) and how those products help Canadians achieve lifetime financial security.  He is passionate about the work he does and the advisors he serves, and is appreciative of the different product designs in the marketplace.

With over 15 years in the insurance field, Mark rounded out his experience through technical positions in investments and valuation, as well as pricing and product development. He spent three years as the leader of Sun Life's large case pricing team, where he tailored solutions for advisors and their affluent clients.  While serving on the third-party distribution team, he enjoyed the competitive atmosphere and how each case was unique and brought new challenges.

Mark is a fellow of the Society of Actuaries (FSA) and Canadian Institute of Actuaries (FCIA), as well as a Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst (CERA) with the Society of Actuaries. It was in pursuit of the actuarial designations that he developed an excitement for the practical applications of risk management through insurance. As an actuary he is able to look “behind the curtain” of many insurance designs and strategies and use his expertise to really understand what is going on.


Stuart Dollar
M.A., LL.B, CFP®, CLU®, ChFC®, TEP

Stuart Dollar is a Director for the Insurance Tax Solutions group with Sun Life Financial in Waterloo, Ontario.

He began his financial services career with London Life in 1994, working as a retirement planner, product manager, and advisor. In 2002 he accepted an opportunity to work with Genworth Financial in the United States as an advanced marketing attorney.

Stuart returned to Canada in 2009 to join Sun Life Financial. He helps with tax issues related to life and health insurance. He is also experienced in the taxation of U.S. life and health insurance products, and with U.S. income and estate tax law.

Stuart often speaks at industry events, and has written several articles, including The Canadian Health Insurance Tax Guide, “Strategies for Canadians with U.S. Retirement Plans”, and “Health Insurance Strategies for Business Owners,” published in the Fall 2017 edition of the Canadian Tax Journal.


Sanjana Bhatia , B.B.A., LL.B., LL.M., TEP
Director of Tax and Insurance Planning

Sanjana Bhatia is a lawyer with over twenty five years experience in tax and insurance planning, tax law knowledge management and tax litigation. 

At Sun Life, Sanjana is a Director of Tax and Insurance Planning where she supports Sun Life's distribution partners and advisors to deliver cutting edge tax expertise, training, and thought leadership in all areas related to insurance taxation and tax and estate planning. 

Prior to joining Sun Life, Sanjana was a tax lawyer in the law firm of Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt.  She supported the partners and associates by developing knowledge management systems to promote practice efficiency, creating the first blog in the firm to alert on new and proposed legislation and developments in case law specific to Osler's tax practice, assisting with pitches, presenting on hot tax topics, preparing statistical analysis on tax case trends including the GAAR and transfer pricing, updating Osler publications and writing articles for publication in tax law journals. 

Sanjana was also a Tax and Estate Planning Consultant at a major financial institution prior to joining Osler.  She has also served for Her Majesty The Queen as litigation counsel at the Department of Justice and argued cases before the Tax Court of Canada, Ontario Superior Court and the Federal Court of Appeal. Her career started as a research clerk/lawyer for the judges at the Tax Court of Canada.

Selected Publications:
  • “Canadian Appeal Court Finds that Oral Interviews of a Multinational Group's Employee Cannot be Compelled During a Transfer Pricing Audit,” Journal of International Taxation.
  • “Managing Canadian Large Corporation Appeals,” Journal of International Taxation. 
  • “A Privilege Update – Trilogy of Canadian Cases Confirms the Functional Approach,” Journal of International Taxation.
  • “Crown Wins Canadian Supreme Court GAAR Decision,” Journal of International Taxation.
  • “Contributions to Capital – Is the CRA Taking a Practical Approach?,” Canadian Current Tax.
  • “Tax Law Enters Renaissance,” The Best of the Best, Expert Guides.
  • “Employees on Foreign Ground: The Overseas Employment Tax Credit,” Taxation of Executive Compensation and Retirement, Federated Press.
  • “Split-Dollar Life Insurance – A Canadian/US Comparison,” CALU Report.
  • “Symposium on Tax Avoidance After Canada Trustco and Mathew: Summary of Proceedings,” Canadian Tax Journal, (co-authored with Benjamin Alarie and David Duff).
  • “Estate Planning Considerations from a Family Law Perspective,” Info Exchange, CALU Report. 


Lino Puzzuoli
Director of Insurance Tax Solutions

Entrepreneurial by nature, Lino Puzzuoli joined Sun Life after selling multiple businesses and returning to school to earn an MBA from the Richard Ivey School of Business. He is passionate about finance, and was hooked ever since his first economics class – subsequently earning a B.A. in Economics, a Certified Financial Planner (CFP)® designation and his Lean Six Sigma Green Belt.

When he was an owner and the CFO for a construction company, Lino learned what it's like to be personally invested during both boom and bust cycles. He appreciates the challenges faced by business owners and can identify with their concerns.

As a believer in lifelong learning, Lino speaks French and Italian well enough to get into and out of trouble. Lino is married and the father of two young children, most easily found during the summer months in his garden.


Jean Turcotte
B.A.A., LL.B., Avocat, D.Fisc.,Pl.Fin.,TEP

Mr. Jean Turcotte is a lawyer and a financial planner. He is graduate from the Université de Sherbrooke. He also holds a Bachelor of Business Administration in finance (B.A.A.) from the École des Hautes Études Commerciales (HEC) and studied Taxation at McGill University. He is a member of the Quebec Bar. He is also a member of the IQPF, APFF and STEP Canada.

Mr. Turcotte currently holds the position of Director, Tax, Insurance and Wealth Management Solutions Group at Sun Life Financial in Montreal. He is in charge of, among other things, provide guidance to financial advisors on complex legal and tax issues affecting both individuals and business owners. Mr. Turcotte is committed to supporting you in finding innovative solutions and increasing the value you offer to clients in the insurance and wealth management sector.

In addition to his work at Sun Life Financial, he wrote a monthly tax article for the magazine Finance et Investissement from 1999 to 2010. Since 2012, he has also been involved in writing articles for Conseiller.ca magazine.

Mr. Turcotte has written several training manuals for the IQPF, the APFF, the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) and the Chambre de la sécurité financière (CSF). He is a frequent speaker at conferences and training sessions organized by the industry. In 2011 and 2016, he was named Trainer of the Year by the Institut Québecois de planification financière (IQPF). Mr. Turcotte has also been a guest speaker in different television programs. Finally, he acts as an expert witness in court in litigations involving financial advisors.

Areas of expertise :

  • Advanced tax planning
  • Financial and estate planning
  • Asset protection
  • Asset management

Daniel Balofsky
CPA-CA, CLU, BBA

In 2005, Daniel began his financial services career in public accounting, and started specializing in taxation in 2009.  In addition to his public accounting experience, Daniel has written income tax and Budget commentary and newsletters, supported tax-software design, and served as a senior economist in the Ontario Ministry of Finance's tax policy division. Daniel joined Sun Life's Insurance Tax Solutions in 2017, where he develops and reviews content for publication, supports internal and external tax initiatives, and provides research & response to escalated tax and policy cases.


Grace Jin, MSc, CLU, QAFP
Advanced Solutions Manager

Since joining Sun Life in 2016, Grace has devoted her career to helping advisors grow their business using sales strategies and understanding the unique ways life insurance can be used to provide creative solutions for clients. In her current role as an Advanced Solutions Manager, Grace has been developing and supporting sales strategies and tools from the ideation to implementation.

Grace graduated from Western University with a Master of Statistics, Actuarial Science. She has continued her commitment to professional development, achieving the QAFP™ Certification and Chartered Life Underwriter® (CLU) designations. She is working toward her Associate of the Society of Actuaries designation.

Les solutions fiscales disponibles avec l’assurance vie - Articles et publications

Le groupe conseil en fiscalité , assurance et gestion de patrimoine de la Financiére Sun Life vous offre de vraies solutions pour votre entreprise - L'informateur financier
Articles du blog
L’assurance-vie au Canada
Taxe transfrontalière
Modifications fiscales & droits acquis
Planification successorale
Les fiducies
Transfert de propriété d'un contrat d'assurance-vie
Frais d’homologation & planification successorale
Impôt familial et planification financière personnelle
La détention corporative d'une police d'assurance
Commentaires sur les budgets fédéraux et provinciaux
Biographies de l’équipe

Mark Arruda, BMATH, FCIA, FSA, CERA, FEA
Vice-président adjoint, gestion des produits d’assurance

Dans le cadre de ses fonctions actuelles de vice-président adjoint, gestion des produits d’assurance, Sun Life, Mark est responsable de la gamme de produits d’assurance-vie de la compagnie (conception et prix) et de la façon dont ces produits aident les Canadiens à atteindre une sécurité financière durable. Il voue une véritable passion pour son travail et pour les conseillers qu’il sert et apprécie les différentes conceptions de produits offertes sur le marché.

Possédant plus de 15 ans d’expérience dans le domaine de l’assurance, Mark a occupé différents postes techniques liés aux placements, à l’évaluation, à la fixation des prix et à la conception de produits. Il a dirigé l’équipe de la fixation des prix des contrats importants de la Sun Life pendant trois ans. Il proposait alors des solutions personnalisées aux conseillers et à leurs clients fortunés. Alors qu’il faisait partie de l’équipe de la distribution aux tiers conseillers, il aimait l’ambiance concurrentielle qui y régnait et le fait que chaque dossier était unique et présentait de nouveaux défis.

Mark a obtenu les titres de Fellow de la Society of Actuaries (FSA) et de l’Institut canadien des actuaires (FICA), ainsi que le titre d’analyste agréé du risque d’entreprise (CERA) de la Society of Actuaries. C’est en poursuivant l’obtention de ces titres actuariels qu’il s’est intéressé aux applications pratiques de la gestion du risque au moyen de l’assurance. En qualité d’actuaire, il est en mesure de voir ce qui se passe vraiment dans les coulisses de la conception des produits d’assurance et des stratégies faisant appel à l’assurance.


Stuart Dollar
M.A., LL.B, CFP®, CLU®, ChFC® et TEP

Stuart Dollar est directeur au sein du Groupe-conseil en matière de planification – gestion de patrimoine, fiscalité et assurance à la Sun Life. Il travaille à Waterloo, en Ontario.

Il a commencé sa carrière dans le secteur des services financiers à la London Life en 1994. Il y a occupé les postes de planificateur de retraite, gestionnaire de produit et conseiller. En 2002, il a accepté un poste d’avocat en marketing auprès de Genworth Financial aux États-Unis.

Stuart est rentré au Canada en 2009 pour se joindre à la Sun Life. Depuis, il nous prête main-forte pour les enjeux fiscaux entourant l’assurance-vie et l’assurance-santé. De plus, il possède de l’expérience dans l’imposition des contrats d’assurance-vie et d’assurance-santé aux États‑Unis, et dans le droit américain régissant l’impôt sur le revenu et les successions.

Stuart prend souvent la parole lors d’événements dans l’industrie. Il a aussi rédigé plusieurs articles, dont : « Stratégies pour les Canadiens qui possèdent des régimes de retraite aux États‑Unis », publié dans le Guide sur la fiscalité de l’assurance-santé au Canada, et « Stratégies en matière d’assurance-maladie pour les propriétaires d’entreprise », publié à l’automne 2017 dans la Revue fiscale canadienne.


Sanjana Bhatia, B.B.A., LL.B., LL.M., TEP
Directrice au sein du Groupe-conseil en matière de planification – gestion de patrimoine

Sanjana Bhatia est une avocate qui compte plus de 25 ans d’expérience en planification fiscale et planification de l’assurance, en gestion des connaissances du droit fiscal et en litiges fiscaux. 

À la Sun Life, elle est directrice au sein du Groupe-conseil en matière de planification – gestion de patrimoine, fiscalité et assurance. Son soutien aux partenaires de la distribution et aux conseillers permet d’offrir une expertise fiscale sans égale, de la formation et un leadership éclairé pour tous les aspects liés à la fiscalité de l’assurance et à la planification fiscale et successorale. 

Avant de se joindre à la Sun Life, Sanjana occupait un poste d’avocate-fiscaliste chez Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt. Elle a prêté main-forte aux partenaires et associés en élaborant des systèmes de gestion des connaissances pour favoriser l’efficacité. Elle a ainsi créé le premier blogue du cabinet sur les lois promulguées, les projets de loi et la jurisprudence qui pouvaient avoir une incidence sur les dossiers d’Osler. Elle a contribué à des argumentaires et donné des présentations sur des sujets d’actualité. Elle a préparé des analyses statistiques sur les tendances de jurisprudence en fiscalité, ainsi que sur la disposition générale anti-évitement et les prix de transfert. Enfin, elle actualisé les publications d’Osler et rédigé des articles pour des publications spécialisées en droit fiscal. 

Auparavant, Sanjana a occupé un poste de consultante en planification fiscale et successorale auprès d’une importante institution financière.  Elle a aussi été avocate plaidante pour la Couronne au ministère de la Justice et a plaidé à la Cour canadienne de l’impôt, à la Cour supérieure de l’Ontario et à la Cour d’appel fédérale. Elle a commencé sa carrière à titre de préposée à la recherche/avocate recherchiste pour les juges à la Cour canadienne de l’impôt.

Quelques-unes de ses publications :

  • « Canadian Appeal Court Finds that Oral Interviews of a Multinational Group’s Employee Cannot be Compelled During a Transfer Pricing Audit », Journal of International Taxation.
  • « Managing Canadian Large Corporation Appeals », Journal of International Taxation.
  • « A Privilege Update – Trilogy of Canadian Cases Confirms the Functional Approach », Journal of International Taxation.
  • « Crown Wins Canadian Supreme Court GAAR Decision », Journal of International Taxation.
  • « Contributions to Capital – Is the CRA Taking a Practical Approach? », Canadian Current Tax.
  • « Tax Law Enters Renaissance », The Best of the Best, Expert Guides.
  • « Employees on Foreign Ground: The Overseas Employment Tax Credit », Taxation of Executive Compensation and Retirement, Federated Press.
  • « Split-Dollar Life Insurance – A Canadian/US Comparison », CALU Report.
  • « Symposium on Tax Avoidance After Canada Trustco and Mathew: Summary of Proceedings », Revue fiscale canadienne (coauteurs Benjamin Alarie et David Duff).
  • « Estate Planning Considerations from a Family Law Perspective », Info Exchange, CALU Report. 

Lino Puzzuoli, MBA
Directeur, Solution fiscales disponibles avec l’assurance vie

Lino Puzzuoli est un entrepreneur né qui s’est joint à la Financière Sun Life après avoir vendu plusieurs entreprises et être retourné étudier à la Richard Ivey School of Business pour y décrocher un MBA. Passionné de finance, il a eu la piqûre dès son premier cours d’économie, ce qui l’a mené à l’obtention d’un baccalauréat en économie et du titre de Certified Financial Planner (CFP®).

Lorsqu’il était propriétaire et directeur financier d’une entreprise du domaine de la construction, Lino a appris au fil des cycles d’expansion et de ralentissement ce que c’était de s’investir personnellement. Il comprend les défis que doivent surmonter les propriétaires d’entreprise et connaît bien leurs préoccupations.

Cherchant toujours à apprendre de nouvelles choses, Lino se débrouille assez bien en français et en italien pour se mettre dans le pétrin, mais aussi pour s'en sortir. Il est marié et a deux jeunes enfants qui passent leurs étés à jouer à l'extérieur.


Jean Turcotte
B.A.A., LL.B., Avocat, D.Fisc.,Pl.Fin.,TEP

Me Jean Turcotte est avocat et diplômé en droit de l’Université de Sherbrooke. Il détient aussi un baccalauréat en administration des affaires (B.A.A) de l’École des hautes études commerciales (HEC) et a étudié en fiscalité à l’Université McGill. Il est membre du Barreau du Québec, planificateur financier et conseiller en sécurité financière. Il est également membre de l’IQPF, de l’APFF et de STEP Canada.

Jean œuvre comme Directeur, Groupe des solutions en fiscalité, assurance et gestion de patrimoine à la Financière Sun Life. Depuis 2011, il est responsable, entre autres, de soutenir les conseillers concernant certaines questions légales ou fiscales complexes touchant autant les particuliers que les entreprises. Me Turcotte s’engage à vous épauler dans la recherche de solutions innovantes et à accroître la valeur que vous offrez aux clients dans le secteur de l'assurance et de la gestion de patrimoine.

Outre son travail à la Financière Sun Life, il a été chroniqueur en fiscalité pour le journal Finance et investissement de 1999 à 2010. Depuis 2012, Il collabore également à la rédaction d’articles informatifs et à la résolution d’études de cas pour le magazine Conseiller.ca.

Me Turcotte a rédigé plusieurs manuels de formation pour l’IQPF, l’APFF, l’Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) et la Chambre de la sécurité financière (CSF). Il est fréquemment invité en tant que conférencier à des séminaires organisés par l’industrie. En 2011 et 2016, il a été nommé formateur de l’année par l’Institut québécois de planification financière (IQPF). Me Turcotte a aussi participé à plusieurs émissions de télévision en tant qu’expert invité. Finalement, il est reconnu comme témoin expert par les tribunaux dans les cas de litiges relatifs aux produits d’assurance et de gestion de patrimoine.

Champs d’expertise :

  • Planification fiscale avancée
  • Planification financière et successorale
  • Protection du patrimoine
  • Gestion des avoirs

Daniel Balofsky
CPA-CA, CLU, BBA

Daniel a commencé sa carrière dans les services financiers en comptabilité publique en 2005. Il s’est spécialisé en fiscalité à compter de 2009. Il a aussi rédigé des commentaires et des articles sur l’impôt sur le revenu et les budgets du gouvernement. Il a contribué à la conception d’un logiciel pour les impôts et a occupé les fonctions d’économiste principal au sein de l’équipe de politique fiscale du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario. Daniel s’est joint à l’équipe Solutions fiscales, gestion de patrimoine et assurance en 2017. Il y crée et révise du contenu, soutient des projets fiscaux internes et externes et répond aux demandes de recherche et aux questions sur les dossiers fiscaux acheminés à un échelon supérieur.


Grace Jin, MSc, CLU, QAFP
Gestionnaire des solutions avancées

Depuis son arrivée à la Sun Life en 2016, Grace se consacre à aider les conseillers à faire croître leurs affaires en utilisant des stratégies de vente et en se servant de l’assurance-vie pour proposer des solutions novatrices aux Clients. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, Grace participe à toutes les étapes des stratégies de vente et des outils, de leur conception à leur mise en œuvre.
Grace a une maîtrise de l’Université Western en statistiques et actuariat. Toujours résolue à se perfectionner, elle a obtenu les titres de QAFP™ et de Chartered Life Underwriter® (CLU), et étudie actuellement pour obtenir celui d’Associate de la Society of Actuaries.

Grace a une maîtrise de l’Université Western en statistiques et actuariat. Toujours résolue à se perfectionner, elle a obtenu les titres de QAFP™ et de Chartered Life Underwriter® (CLU), et étudie actuellement pour obtenir celui d’Associate de la Society of Actuaries.