Foreign travel guidelines for life insurance coverage

We continually monitor global events to remain current on political, economic, socioeconomic, criminal, health-care and transportation issues around the world. As events occur, we may update our foreign travel guidelines.

The Canadian government categorizes the risk of travel to foreign countries as follows:

  • Exercise normal security precautions
  • Exercise high degree of caution
  • Avoid non-essential travel
  • Avoid all travel

Source: www.voyage.gc.ca

Generally, individuals who travel to countries with the first two risk levels are insurable. Individuals who travel to countries/regions with the risk level of "Avoid non-essential travel" may be insurable, depending on details of travel and the reason for the risk level. Individuals who travel to countries/regions with the risk level of "Avoid all travel" are generally uninsurable. If travel is to multiple countries, the most conservative country assessment will apply.

Sun Life has classified countries as either low risk, moderate to high risk, or uninsurable.

  • For travel to low risk countries, (exercise normal security precautions) , we'll offer coverage at standard rates, provided the proposed insured's health qualifies and as long as travel is less than six months per year. We classify over 130 countries as low risk countries.
  • For travel to moderate to high risk countries, (exercise high degree of caution or avoid non-essential travel) we'll offer coverage at standard rates provided the proposed insured's health qualifies, travel is less than three months per year and as long as the proposed insured is not traveling to a region with a travel warning of "avoid all travel" on the government of Canada travel website. For travel between three and six months we'll require a flat extra premium $2.50 per $1,000 of coverage.
  • For travel to uninsurable countries or regions (avoid all travel), we will usually not be able to offer any coverage. In addition, a list of uninsurable countries is available below.

Other considerations:

  • Preferred rates and optional benefits are not available if the proposed insured is rated for foreign travel.
  • Any proposed insured residing in a foreign country for more than six months will be considered on an individual basis.

Reconsideration of rating:

Extra premiums for travel can be reconsidered after issue, provided there has been no rateable travel for at least one year, no plans to travel to a rateable country in the next 12 months, and no changes in health or other risk factors since the policy issue date.

Requirements for reconsideration will include:

The following occupations are uninsurable: government diplomats, journalists (foreign correspondents), foreign aid workers, members of an armed service group (including peacekeepers) and missionaries (in this context we are referring to full-time missionaries vs. someone who works full time and engages in a few weeks of missionary or humanitarian work annually).

Uninsurable countries

Generally speaking, proposed insureds who travel to the countries listed below or who contemplate traveling to one of these countries cannot be offered life insurance coverage, regardless of length of travel.  This list is subject to change at any time without notice. In addition to these destinations, we will usually not be able to offer coverage to individuals who travel or contemplate traveling to countries with a travel warning of "avoid all travel" on the government of Canada's website for Canadians traveling or living abroad: www.travel.gc.ca.

  • Afghanistan
  • Burundi
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Congo, Democratic Republic
  • Guinea
  • Haiti
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Ivory Coast
  • Korea, North
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Myanmar (Burma)
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Palestine
  • Russia (Chechnya)
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • Sudan, Republic of South
  • Syria
  • Western Sahara
  • Yemen

Lignes directrices concernant les voyages à l'étranger applicables à l'assurance-vie

Nous surveillons constamment les événements mondiaux afin de nous tenir à jour sur le climat politique, économique et socioéconomique, la criminalité et les questions relatives aux soins de santé et au transport dans le monde entier. Nous révisons nos lignes directrices concernant les voyages à l'étranger selon les événements.

Le gouvernement du Canada classifie les risques en matière de sécurité à l'étranger comme suit :

  • Prendre des mesures de sécurité normales
  • Faire preuve d'une grande prudence
  • Éviter tout voyage non essentiel
  • Éviter tout voyage

Source : www.voyage.gc.ca

En règle générale, les personnes qui se rendent dans des pays associés au premier ou au deuxième niveau de risque sont assurables. Les personnes qui se rendent dans des pays ou des régions associés au troisième niveau de risque («éviter tout voyage non essentiel») peuvent être assurables, selon les détails du voyage et la raison du niveau de risque. Les personnes qui se rendent dans des pays ou des régions associés au quatrième niveau de risque («éviter tout voyage») ne sont habituellement pas assurables. Si la personne à assurer se rend dans plusieurs pays, nous appliquons l'évaluation la plus prudente.

La Sun Life classe les pays par catégories «faible risque», «risque de modéré à élevé» et «risque inassurable».

  • Pour les pays à faible risque (prendre des mesures de sécurité normales), nous offrons la couverture au tarif standard, si la personne à assurer remplit les conditions exigées reliées à l'état de santé et à condition que le voyage soit de moins de 6 mois par année. Plus de 130 pays entrent dans la catégorie à faible risque.
  • Pour les pays à risque de modéré à élevé (faire preuve d'une grande prudence ou éviter tout voyage non essentiel), nous offrons la couverture au tarif standard, si la personne à assurer remplit les conditions exigées reliées à l'état de santé, à condition que le voyage soit de moins de 3 mois par année et pour autant que la personne à assurer ne se rend pas dans une région visée par un avertissement au voyageur «d'éviter tout voyage» sur le site Web Voyage du gouvernement du Canada. Pour un voyage de 3 à 6 mois, une surprime uniforme de 2,50 $ par tranche de 1 000 $ d'assurance est requise.
  • Pour des voyages dans des pays ou des régions à risque inassurable (éviter tout voyage), nous n'offrons généralement aucune couverture. De plus, vous trouverez ci-dessous la liste des pays inassurables

Autres facteurs:

  • Les tarifs préférentiels et les garanties facultatives ne sont pas offerts si la personne à assurer doit payer une surprime pour voyage à l'étranger.
  • Toute personne à assurer qui réside à l'étranger durant plus de six mois sera considérée sur une base individuelle.

Réexamen de la surprime :

La surprime pour les voyages peut être réévaluée après l'établissement du contrat dans le cas où la personne à assurer n'a fait aucun voyage pouvant faire l'objet d'une surprime depuis au moins un an, ne prévoit pas se rendre dans un pays pouvant faire l'objet d'une surprime dans les 12 mois qui suivent et il n'y a pas eu de changement à son état de santé et aux autres facteurs de risque depuis la date d'établissement du contrat.

Les exigences pour le réexamen incluent :

Les professions suivantes ne sont pas assurables : diplomates, journalistes (correspondants à l'étranger), travailleurs de l'aide à l'étranger, membres d'un corps d'armée (y compris les membres des forces de maintien de la paix) et missionnaires (dans ce contexte, nous entendons les missionnaires à temps plein et non pas une personne qui travaille à temps plein et qui consacre chaque année quelques semaines à un travail humanitaire ou missionnaire).

Pays inassurables

En règle générale, les personnes à assurer qui se rendent dans des pays inclus à la liste ci-dessous ou qui envisagent de voyager dans l'un de ces pays ne peuvent pas bénéficier d'assurance-vie, quelle que soit la durée du voyage. Cette liste peut changer n'importe quand et sans préavis. En plus de ces destinations, nous ne pouvons pas offrir, en général, de couverture aux personnes qui se rendent ou prévoient de voyager dans des pays visés par un avertissement au voyageur « d'éviter tout voyage» sur le site Web du gouvernement du Canada, ww.voyage.gc.ca, pour les Canadiens qui voyagent ou vivent à l'étranger.

  • Afghanistan
  • Burundi
  • Congo, République démocratique du
  • Corée du Nord
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Guinée
  • Haïti
  • Irak
  • Iran
  • Libéria
  • Libye
  • Myanmar (Birmanie)
  • Niger
  • Nigéria
  • République centrafricaine
  • République du Soudan du Sud
  • Russie (Tchétchénie)
  • Sahara occidental
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalie
  • Soudan
  • Syrie
  • Tchad
  • Yémen