Legislative supervisory requirements for new life insurance agents and trainees

The province is the location where the new life insurance agent (trainee in Quebec) is licensed to do business.

  • British Columbia
  • Manitoba
  • Quebec
  • Saskatchewan
British Columbia
Provincial requirement

The new life insurance agent must be supervised for 24 months by an individual who has held an active licence for a minimum of five of the last seven years.

Supervisory requirements

A new life insurance agent must only conduct insurance activities under the supervision of a life insurance agent supervisor. The supervisor is an individual who has held an active licence for a minimum of five of the last seven years and must review all of the applications and ensure that the needs analysis is completed and documented.

Manitoba
Provincial requirement

The new life insurance agent must be supervised for 12 months by an individual who has held an active licence for a minimum of three years. The supervisor accepts responsibility for the documents as if he or she had completed them as the life insurance agent.

Supervisory requirements
A supervisor must review all of the applications and ensure that the needs analysis is completed and documented. The supervisor must be an individual who has held an active licence for a minimum of three years, and must countersign each application, declaration form and written comparative analysis. To assist the supervisor with their supervisory duties, they may complete the template
provided by the Insurance Council of Manitoba.
Quebec
Provincial requirement

The trainee must complete at least 28 hours of work per week, over a 12- week probationary period. The trainee must be supervised by an individual who has held an active licence for a minimum of two years of the last three years.

Supervisory requirements

During the 12-week probationary period, the supervisor is responsible for all of the trainee's professional activities. The supervisor must be an individual who has held an active licence for a minimum of two years of the last three years and must approve the products and services offered by the trainee before any recommendation is made to the client. The supervisor will enter this approval in the client file, and countersign any proposal or form, in particular, notices for purposes of replacement.

A supervisor must not have more than 5 trainees under his responsibility at any time. The AMF may, particularly during inspections, ask to see evidence of meetings with the trainee or of the entry in the client's file of the trainee's work review by the supervisor, if it deems necessary. If one of the obligations is not met, the AMF may suspend the right to act as a supervisor for a period of 1 year.

Saskatchewan
Provincial requirement

The new life insurance agent must be supervised for 24 months by an individual with a minimum of three years of experience as a licensed insurance agent.

Supervisory requirements
The supervisor must be an individual who has held an active licence for a minimum of three years, must review the needs analysis/replacement declaration forms and policy illustrations of each new life insurance agent and must complete the Saskatchewan Life Supervision Certificate
when completing needs analysis/replacement declaration form/policy illustrations. A new life insurance agent with less than 24 months of experience shall, within 10 days of completing a life insurance replacement disclosure document have the document signed by a supervisor.

Exigences législatives de supervision pour les nouveaux agents d'assurances-vie et stagiaires

La province ou territoire qui s'applique est celle ou celui qui a émis le permis du nouvel agent d'assurance-vie (stagiaire au Québec).

  • Colombie-Britannique
  • Manitoba
  • Québec
  • Saskatchewan
Colombie-Britannique
Exigences provinciales ou territoriales

Le nouvel agent d'assurance-vie doit être supervisé pendant 24 mois par une personne qui avait un permis valable pendant au moins cinq des sept dernières années.

Exigences de supervision

Un nouvel agent d'assurance-vie peut seulement exercer des activités d'assurance sous la surveillance du superviseur pour l'assurance-vie. Le superviseur, soit une personne qui avait un permis valable pendant au moins cinq des sept dernières années, doit passer en revue toutes les propositions et s'assurer qu'une analyse des besoins a été effectuée et justifiée avec des documents à l'appui pour chaque cas.

Manitoba
Exigences provinciales ou territoriales

Le nouvel agent d'assurance-vie doit être supervisé pendant 12 mois par une personne qui a un permis valable depuis au moins trois ans. Le superviseur est responsable de l'exactitude des documents comme s'il les avait remplis lui-même à titre d'agent d'assurance-vie.

Exigences de supervision
Un superviseur doit passer en revue toutes les propositions et s'assurer que l'analyse des besoins a été effectuée et justifiée avec des documents à l'appui. Le superviseur doit être une personne qui a un permis valable depuis au moins trois ans. Il doit contresigner chaque proposition, formulaire de déclaration et analyse de comparaison écrite. Le superviseur peut, pour simplifier ses tâches de supervision, se servir du modèle
(en anglais seulement) fourni par l'Insurance Council of Manitoba.
Québec
Exigences provinciales ou territoriales

Le stagiaire doit travailler au moins 28 heures par semaine sur une période probatoire de 12 semaines. Le stagiaire doit être supervisé par une personne qui avait un permis valable pendant au moins deux des trois dernières années.

Exigences de supervision

Pendant la période probatoire de 12 semaines, le superviseur est responsable de toutes les activités professionnelles du stagiaire. Le superviseur doit être une personne qui avait un permis valable pendant au moins deux des trois dernières années. Il doit approuver les produits et services que le stagiaire offrira au client avant que les recommandations soient faites au client. Le superviseur donnera son approbation en inscrivant une note à cet effet dans le dossier du client et contresignera toute proposition ou tout formulaire et, surtout, tout avis de remplacement.

Un superviseur ne peut pas être responsable de plus de 5 stagiaires à la fois. L'AMF peut demander, surtout dans le cadre de ses vérifications, de voir la preuve de rencontres avec les stagiaires ou les entrées que le superviseur a faites dans les dossiers des clients des stagiaires, si elle le juge nécessaire. Si l'une des exigences n'est pas satisfaite, l'AMF peut suspendre le superviseur de ses fonctions à titre de superviseur pendant une période d'un an.

Saskatchewan
Exigences provinciales ou territoriales

Le nouvel agent d'assurance-vie doit être supervisé pendant 24 mois par une personne qui a au moins trois ans d'expérience à titre d'agent d'assurance détenant un permis.

Exigences de supervision
Le superviseur doit être une personne qui a un permis valable depuis au moins trois ans. Il doit passer en revue les analyses des besoins, les avis de remplacement et les aperçus de contrat effectués par chaque nouvel agent d'assurance-vie et il doit remplir le Saskatchewan Life Supervision Certificate
(en anglais seulement) pour chaque cas où une analyse des besoins, un avis de remplacement ou un aperçu de contrat a été effectué. Un nouvel agent d'assurance-vie ayant moins de 24 mois d'expérience doit faire signer tout avis de remplacement d'assurance-vie par son superviseur dans les 10 jours suivant la date où il a rempli l'avis.