Competitive Edge: Standard Deviation

OF THE PAR DSIR

Elements that affect policyholder dividends

The dividend scale interest rate (DSIR) is influenced by the performance of the participating (Par) account investments which has the largest impact on the dividends available to policyholders. It is not the yield of the Par account. Sun Life sets it by looking at recent investment experience and our realistic expectations for returns in the near future. Unlike some other insurers, Sun Life applies the same DSIR to all Par policyholders, including those in the open and closed block.

Standard deviation

Standard deviation is how we measure the volatility of the DSIR over time. Although past performance does not guarantee future performance, an investment with a lower historical standard deviation is indicative of lower risk. This is because its returns have been more stable. Stability is important because it allows you to have confidence in the values that you illustrate.

Comparing Sun Life’s low DSIR volatility to alternative investments

The DSIR of Sun Life’s Par has historically experienced lower volatility in comparison to major benchmarks, including Par dividend scale returns from other Canadian insurers. Over the past 25 years, the standard deviation of Sun Life’s DSIR was just 0.79%.

Government of Canada bond returns include the reinvestment of dividends. S&P/TSX composite total returns include the reinvestment of dividends. Five-year GIC returns are nominal yields to maturity taken from Statistics Canada CANSIM table 10-10-0122-01 and Consumer Price Index is taken from Statistics Canada Table 10-10-0145-01.

Compared to major benchmarks, Sun Life’s DSIR has experienced a lower long-term standard deviation

Time period

Sun Life DSIR

GOC 10 year bonds

S&P/TSX total return

Comp. X DSIR

Comp. Y DSIR

Comp. Z DSIR

20 years

0.73%

1.42%

16.77%

1.17%

0.88%

NA1

25 years

0.79%

1.73%

16.37%

1.32%

1.13%

NA1

30 years

1.15%

2.38%

15.76%

2.34%

1.52%

NA1

How Sun Life achieves low volatility in the DSIR

DSIR smoothing process

The DSIR is based on the smoothed returns of the assets backing the Par account liabilities. Sun Life amortizes gains and losses over time, which mitigates fluctuations in the market. This keeps the DSIR more stable over the long-term.

Large and diverse Par account asset mix

Sun Life is one of the largest Canadian-owned investment managers with over one trillion dollars of assets under management (2019). We also have a tenured investment management team. As a result, Sun Life is able to take advantage of its experience and capital-rich position in Canada to invest in areas that other investment management firms may not be able to access. For example, Sun Life has one of the largest private fixed income (PFI) teams in North America and holds a higher percentage of PFI than the Par accounts of all major competitors. Through diversification and the tactical inclusion of private assets, Sun Life’s Par account has achieved stability and attractive returns.

The low standard deviation shows that Clients can expect a long-term stable investment when using Sun Life Par for their life insurance needs. Talk to your Sales Director about Sun Life’s participating life insurance solutions today.

1Competitor Z data is N/A because they don’t disclose their DSIR prior to 2018.
All values as of December 31, 2020.

Download Competitive Edge Standard Deviation PDF

L'avantage concurrentiel: l'écart-type

DU TAUX D’INTÉRÊT DU BARÈME DE PARTICIPATIONS

Éléments ayant un impact sur les participations des propriétaires de contrat

Le taux d’intérêt du barème de participations (TIBP) est influencé par le rendement des placements du compte des contrats avec participation. C’est lui qui a les répercussions les plus importantes sur les participations versées aux propriétaires de contrat. Il ne correspond pas au rendement du compte des contrats avec participation. La Sun Life l’établit selon les résultats techniques récents des placements et ses attentes réalistes à l’égard des rendements à court terme. Contrairement à d’autres assureurs, la Sun Life applique le même TIBP à tous les propriétaires de contrats avec participation (blocs ouverts et fermés).

Écart-type

L’écart-type mesure la volatilité du TIBP au fil du temps. Bien que les rendements antérieurs ne garantissent pas les résultats futurs, un faible écart-type indique un risque moins élevé. Cela est attribuable à la stabilité des rendements. Celle-ci est importante, car elle vous permet de vous fier aux valeurs que vous donnez en aperçu.

Faible volatilité du TIBP de la Sun Life par rapport aux autres placements

Historiquement, le TIBP du compte des contrats avec participation de la Sun Life est moins volatil que les rendements des principaux indices de référence et les taux des barèmes de participations d’autres assureurs canadiens. Au cours des 25 dernières années, l’écart-type du TIBP de la Sun Life a été de 0,79 %.

Le rendement des obligations du gouvernement du Canada et celui de l’indice composé S&P/TSX (rend. global) comprennent le réinvestissement des dividendes. Le rendement nominal à l’échéance des CPG de 5 ans provient de Statistique Canada, CANSIM, 10-10-0122-01 et l’indice des prix à la consommation provient de Statistique Canada, CANSIM, 10-10-0145-01.

Comparativement aux principaux indices de référence, l’écart-type du TIBP de la Sun Life est plus faible à long terme.

Période

TIBP de la
Sun Life

Obligation du gouv.
du Canada à 10 ans

Ind. de rend. global S&P/TSX

TIBP du conc. X

TIBP du conc. Y

TIBP du
conc. Z

20 ans

0,73 %

1,42 %

16,77 %

1,17 %

0,88 %

S. O.1

25 ans

0,79 %

1,73 %

16,37 %

1,32 %

1,13 %

S. O.1

30 ans

1,15 %

2,38 %

15,76 %

2,34 %

1,52 %

S. O.1

Comment la Sun Life limite la volatilité du TIBP

Processus d’uniformisation du TIBP

Le TIBP est fonction des rendements uniformes de l’actif cautionnant le passif du compte des contrats avec participation. La Sun Life amortit les gains et les pertes au fil du temps, ce qui diminue les fluctuations du marché. Le TIBP est ainsi plus stable à long terme.

Composition variée de l’actif du compte des contrats avec participation

La Sun Life est l’un des plus importants gestionnaires de placements appartenant à des intérêts canadiens, avec plus de 1 billion de dollars en actif géré (2019). Nous disposons également d’une équipe de gestion des placements chevronnée. La Sun Life profite de son expérience et de sa forte capitalisation au Canada pour investir dans des secteurs auxquels les autres sociétés de gestion de placements n’ont pas toujours accès. Par exemple, l’équipe des placements privés à revenu fixe de la Sun Life est l’une des plus importantes en Amérique du Nord. Son compte des contrats avec participation comporte également plus de titres à revenu fixe privés que ceux de ses principaux concurrents. Grâce à l’intégration tactique d’actifs privés et à la diversification, le compte des contrats avec participation de la Sun Life offre une stabilité et des rendements attrayants.

Le faible écart-type indique que les Clients peuvent compter sur un placement à long terme stable lorsqu’ils recourent à l’assurance-vie Sun Life avec participation pour combler leurs besoins. Communiquez avec votre directeur des ventes pour en savoir plus sur les solutions d’assurance-vie avec participation de la Sun Life.

1 « S. O. » est indiqué pour le concurrent Z puisqu’il n’a publié aucun TIBP avant 2018. 
Données au 31 décembre 2020.

À télécharger : PDF L’avantage concurrentiel : l’écart-type