We’ve noticed a rise in COVID-19 scams by email, text and phone. Please be cautious. Here’s how you can protect yourself and what to do if you suspect fraud. You can also find the latest info on how we’re responding to the pandemic at sunlife.ca/covid-19.

COVID-19 FAQs

General

We know that social distancing is affecting you and how you’ve been able to use your benefits. We also know the economic uncertainty may affect your ability to pay your insurance premiums. We’re actively looking at what options we’ll be able to offer Clients affected by COVID-19. We’ll share more about how we will help as quickly as we can. 

We’re staying committed to worldwide communities. As the COVID-19 pandemic continues, Sun Life will be donating $1 million to support health care, elder care and address food security needs.

Learn more about how we’re helping charities in the markets in which we operate.

Connecting with us

Your Sun Life Financial advisor can meet with you online using Zoom video chat. We use an Enterprise version of Zoom, which runs over an encrypted internet connection to keep your computer and webcam information private and secure. This version also has new security features that allow advisors to:

  • validate and admit the participants prior to entering the Zoom session,
  • lock the meeting to prevent anyone else to join,
  • limit what participants can do, and
  • remove anyone who should not be part of the meeting.

During the meeting, you’ll be able to see your advisor and the information they share from their computer screen. You’ll be in full control of your video camera.

Other video conference platforms will not be as secure, so your advisor will only video conference with you using Zoom.

Call or email your advisor for more information or to set up a meeting.

We keep your personal information secure no matter where our employees are located. Even though some employees are working from home, we haven’t changed the way we access, use and store your data. Our existing privacy and security controls are still in place.

Most Clients can sign up for this through their mysunlife.ca account. Other Clients will have to send us their banking information before we can send electronic payments. Give us a call at 1-877-SUN-LIFE (1-877-786-5433) and we’ll walk you through it.

Health benefits 

No, your remaining balance will not carry over to next year.

Your HSA and PSA terms haven’t changed. We’ll carry over your account balances and expenses the way your contract tells us to. We aren’t adding any extra extensions.

There are many expenses you can claim to use up your HSA or PSA balance. You can find a list at mysunlife.ca in the Benefits section.

  • Select Coverage information
  • In the Spending Account section, choose Health Spending Account coverage or Personal Spending Account coverage

You can also find information in your benefits booklet.

Yes. Your health remains our top priority. We want to make it easier for you to see your health-care provider.

If your plan covers the practitioners listed below, you’ll continue to have the same coverage as non-virtual services. We’ll cover virtual services for appointments where you don’t need in-person therapies. This means we’re covering your claims for virtual services performed by:

  • Audiologists 
  • Chiropodists 
  • Chiropractors 
  • Naturopaths 
  • Occupational Therapists 
  • Osteopaths 
  • Podiatrists 
  • Psychologists 
  • Psychotherapists 
  • Physiotherapists 
  • Registered Dieticians 
  • Social Workers 
  • Speech Therapists  

Your practitioner must be in Canada for us to cover your claim.

We continue to review and assess all of our processes. We want to ensure we make it easier for you to continue on your health journey.

You can submit a claim on mysunlife.ca or through the my Sun Life mobile app.

To make a claim for a virtual service:

  • Select the type of service
  • Select the location of service
    • For any virtual appointments, select “virtual visits” as the location of service

We know you want to ensure you have enough medication at home. Early on in the pandemic, health authorities recommended pharmacists provide a 30-day supply to Canadians. This helped ensure everyone could get the medications they needed. Some provinces are now beginning to relax these limits, but it depends on your province and your medication. Talk to your pharmacist next time you get a refill and they’ll explain the limits that apply to you.

Insurance

You can rest assured that the coverage you bought through your advisor remains the same. We haven’t made any changes to your policies because of COVID-19. We’ll continue to pay claims for policies in good standing (in force), and as long as the information you provided was accurate when you applied.  

  • Life insurance: We’ll pay claims when death is due to COVID-19. 
  • Critical illness insurance covers critical illnesses such as heart attack or stroke. COVID-19 is not a covered illness. We’ll continue to cover Clients who suffer a covered critical illness after contracting COVID-19.  
  • Personal Health, Insurance Personal Health Direct, My Health Choice and Health Coverage Choice: Usually, policies cover emergency travel medical coverage for 60 days. If you are out of country and delayed returning to Canada beyond your 60-day coverage date, we’ll extend individual emergency travel medical coverage until April 30, 2020. You can submit your claims as usual or give us a call at 1-800-361-6212.  We’ll continue to visit this time frame as the situation progresses. 
  • Long Term Care Insurance: We’ll continue to pay claims for Clients who meet the requirements in their policy.  

Your policy includes the details about your coverage. Your advisor can help you with any questions. 

The COVID-19 pandemic is affecting the lives of many Canadians. We’re here to help. If you purchased your insurance through an advisor and you’re facing financial hardship due to the pandemic, we have solutions to help you keep your valuable life and health insurance coverage in place.

Please speak with your advisor or contact us at 1-877-SUN-LIFE (1-877-786-5433) to see how we can help you.

Retirement, investments

If you have a Registered Retirement Income Fund (RRIF) and other registered income plan types (like LIFs), you can reduce your required minimum annual withdrawals by up to 25% in 2020. This gives you the flexibility to redeem fewer assets while their market value is low.

You don’t have to lower your minimum withdrawal if you don’t want to. This is a temporary change that applies only to the 2020 tax year. The RRIF minimum reduction will apply to the entire minimum annual payment. You cannot make a re-contribution if you’ve already made your original minimum withdrawal.

You can read more about this change on the Government of Canada website.

If you want to take advantage of this option, reach out to your advisor or call us at 1‑877‑SUN‑LIFE (1‑877‑786‑5433).

We know it’s emotional to see your portfolio go down in the short term. But if your long-term goals haven’t changed, it pays to stay the course. If your financial goals have changed, we are here for you. If you do need to make a change, here’s more information:

To change your investments in savings accounts set up through your employer:

  • Sign in to mysunlife.ca.
  • Under Investments, select my financial centre.
  • Under Requests, select Change investments.
  • Not registered yet? Take a few minutes to register now.

To change the investments in accounts you set up through your advisor:

  • Contact your advisor. If you can’t find your advisor’s number or email address, go to Find an advisor and enter your advisor’s last name.

For more information, you can go to our Contributions, withdrawals and fund changes page.

Nous avons remarqué une hausse de tentatives de fraude liées à la COVID-19, tant par courriel que par texto et par téléphone. Soyez prudent. Voici comment vous pouvez vous en protéger et quoi faire si vous soupçonnez être victime d’une tentative de fraude.

Voyez aussi notre réponse à la pandémie sur sunlife.ca/la-covid-19

Foire aux questions

Général

Rien n’est plus important que votre santé et votre sécurité, y compris celles de vos proches. C’est pourquoi nous imaginons sans cesse des façons de vous aider à rester au sommet de votre mieux-être physique, mental et financier. Des exemples?

Peu importe vos besoins, nos employés sont prêts à y répondre. Ensemble, nous traverserons cette épreuve.

Nous sommes engagés à prendre soin des collectivités à travers le monde. La Sun Life a récemment versé 1 million de dollars pour soutenir les soins de santé, les soins aux aînés et les besoins en sécurité alimentaire.

Lisez pour savoir comment nous aidons les organismes de bienfaisance dans les marchés où nous oeuvrons.

Communiquez avec nous

Votre conseiller Financière Sun Life peut vous rencontrer en ligne par appel vidéo Zoom. Nous utilisons une version Entreprise de Zoom, qui s’exécute au moyen d’une connexion Internet chiffrée assurant la protection et la sécurité des renseignements que vous communiquez par ordinateur et par webcam. Cette version comporte de nouvelles fonctions de sécurité qui permettent aux conseillers de :

  • vérifier et d’accepter les participants avant qu’ils se connectent à la séance dans Zoom;
  • verrouiller la réunion pour empêcher d’autres personnes d’y participer;
  • limiter ce que peuvent faire les participants;
  • retirer de la réunion toute personne qui ne devrait pas y être.

Pendant la rencontre, vous pourrez voir votre conseiller ainsi que les renseignements qu’il vous transmettra sur son écran. Vous aurez le plein contrôle de votre caméra.

Les autres plateformes de vidéoconférence ne sont pas aussi sécurisées, donc votre conseiller utilisera seulement Zoom dans ses vidéoconférences avec vous.

Appelez votre conseiller ou envoyez-lui un courriel pour en savoir ou pour fixer un rendez-vous.

C’est facile en général de s’inscrire à ce service. L’inscription se fait sur le compte masunlife.ca. Certains Clients devront d’abord nous envoyer leurs renseignements bancaires. Appelez-nous au 1-877-SUN-LIFE (1-877-786-5433) et nous vous aiderons à vous inscrire pour profiter de ce service.

Couverture des frais médicaux et dentaires

Non, votre solde restant ne sera pas reporté à l’année suivante.

Les conditions liées au CSS et au CDP demeurent inchangées. Nous reporterons le solde de vos comptes et vos frais conformément aux modalités de votre contrat. Il n’y aura pas de prolongation.

Il y a beaucoup de frais que vous pouvez payer, à concurrence du solde de votre CSS ou de votre CDP. Vous trouverez la liste sur maSunlife.ca dans la section Garanties.

  • Sélectionnez Votre couverture.
  • Dans la section Compte de crédits, sélectionnez Compte soins de santé ou Couverture au titre du Compte de dépenses personnel

Vous trouverez aussi des renseignements à ce sujet dans votre brochure explicative.

Oui. Votre santé est notre priorité absolue. Nous voulons que vous puissiez consulter facilement votre professionnel de la santé.

Si votre régime couvre les professionnels ci-dessous, vous conserverez la même couverture que pour les services non virtuels. Nous couvrirons les services virtuels dans le cas de rendez-vous où vous n’avez pas besoin de thérapie ou de traitement en personne. Donc, nous couvrons les services virtuels fournis par :

  • Audiologistes 
  • Chiropodistes 
  • Chiropraticiens 
  • Diététistes autorisés 
  • Ergothérapeutes 
  • Naturopathes 
  • Orthophonistes 
  • Ostéopathes 
  • Podiatres 
  • Psychologues 
  • Psychothérapeutes 
  • Physiothérapeutes 
  • Travailleurs sociaux 

Le professionnel doit être au Canada pour que les services soient couverts.

Nous analysons tous nos processus. Nous voulons simplifier la suite de votre parcours santé.

Vous pouvez le faire sur maSunlife.ca ou avec l’appli mobile.

Pour présenter une demande de ce type :

  • Sélectionnez le type de service
  • Sélectionnez l’endroit où le service a été donné.
    • Dans le cas des rendez-vous virtuels, sélectionnez « Rendez-vous virtuel » comme lieu du service.

Nous savons que vous voulez vous assurer d’avoir suffisamment de médicaments à la maison. Au début de la pandémie, les autorités sanitaires ont recommandé aux pharmaciens de fournir aux Canadiens une quantité de médicaments pour 30 jours. Cette mesure visait à s’assurer que tous aient accès aux médicaments nécessaires. Certaines provinces commencent à assouplir cette règle, mais cela dépend de votre province et de votre médicament. À votre prochain renouvellement d’ordonnance, demandez à votre pharmacien de vous expliquer quelle limite s’applique à vous.

Assurances

Vous avez souscrit une assurance auprès d’un conseiller, mais vous éprouvez des difficultés financières en raison de la pandémie? Nous avons des solutions pour vous aider à maintenir en vigueur vos assurances vie et santé.

Contactez votre conseiller ou appelez-nous au 1-877-SUN-LIFE (1-877-786-5433). Ensemble, nous verrons comment nous pouvons vous aider.

Vous pouvez être assuré que la couverture que vous avez achetée par l’entremise de votre conseiller demeure inchangée. Nous n’avons apporté aucun changement à vos contrats en raison de la COVID-19. Nous continuerons de verser les règlements pour les contrats qui sont en règle (en vigueur), si les renseignements que vous avez fournis étaient exacts au moment où vous avez demandé l’assurance. 

  • Assurance-vie : Nous effectuerons le règlement si le décès est dû à la COVID-19. 
  • Assurance maladies graves : Cette assurance couvre les maladies graves comme les crises cardiaques ou les accidents vasculaires cérébraux. La COVID-19 n’est pas une maladie couverte. Nous continuerons de couvrir les Clients qui souffrent d’une maladie grave couverte après avoir contracté la COVID-19. 
  • Assurance-santé personnelle, Choix protection-santé, Assurance-santé personnelle en direct et Mes Choix santé : Habituellement, les contrats couvrent les soins médicaux d’urgence en voyage pendant 60 jours. Vous pouvez présenter vos demandes de règlement comme d’habitude ou nous appeler au 1-800-361-6212. Nous continuerons d’examiner ce délai à mesure que la situation évolue. 
  • Assurance de soins de longue durée : Nous continuerons de verser les prestations pour les Clients qui répondent aux exigences de leur contrat. 

Votre contrat contient les renseignements sur votre couverture. N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec votre conseiller pour toute question. 

Retraite et placements

Si vous avez un fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR) ou un autre type de régime de revenu enregistré (comme un FRV), vous pouvez réduire de 25 % le montant du retrait minimum obligatoire en 2020. Vous avez ainsi plus de souplesse, ce qui vous permet donc de racheter moins d’actifs alors que leur valeur de marché est faible.

Vous n’avez pas à réduire le retrait minimum si ce n’est pas ce que vous souhaitez. Il s’agit d’un changement temporaire qui s’applique uniquement à l’année fiscale 2020. Cette réduction s’appliquera à la totalité du paiement minimum annuel au titre du FERR. Vous ne pouvez pas cotiser de nouveau au FERR si vous avez déjà retiré le montant minimum habituel.

Vous trouverez plus de renseignements à ce sujet sur le site du gouvernement du Canada.

Si vous souhaitez profiter de cette option, communiquez avec votre conseiller ou appelez-nous au 1‑877‑SUN‑LIFE (1‑877‑786‑5433).

Nous savons combien cela peut être difficile de voir son portefeuille perdre de la valeur à court terme. Mais si vos objectifs à long terme n’ont pas changé, c’est payant de garder le cap. Si vos objectifs financiers ont changé,nous sommes là pour vous. Si vous devez faire des changements, voici comment faire:

Pour modifier votre sélection de fonds dans des comptes d’épargne instaurés par votre employeur:

  • Ouvrez une session sur maSunlife.ca.
  • Sous Placements, cliquez sur mon centre financier.
  • Sous Demandes, sélectionnez Modification des placements.
  • Pas encore inscrit? Prenez quelques instants pour vous inscrire maintenant

Pour modifier votre sélection de fonds dans des comptes instaurés par votre conseiller:

Pour en savoir plus, visitez notre page Cotisations, retraits et transferts entre fonds.