We’ve noticed a rise in COVID-19 scams by email, text and phone. Please be cautious. Here’s how you can protect yourself and what to do if you suspect fraud. You can also find the latest info on how we’re responding to the pandemic at sunlife.ca/covid-19.

Lydia's her girl

A Choices plan member story

The following is based on an actual customer's experience

The scenario

  • Name: Cynthia
  • Situation: Withdrawing money from her LIF
  • Investment knowledge: Average

Cynthia and Lydia’s relationship began on April 10, 2015. That’s the day that Cynthia first received a call from Lydia, a Retirement Consultant1 at Sun Life.

Cynthia had recently lost her job and had to move her money out of her company’s defined contribution pension plan. Lydia contacted Cynthia to help her with the transfer. After Lydia explained the options available to her, Cynthia decided to transfer her money to a Sun Life Choices Retirement Income Plan.

After they completed the transfer, Lydia explained that whenever Cynthia wanted, she could just pick up the phone and call Lydia to talk about her Choices plan.

Eight months later, Cynthia took Lydia up on her offer. She called and said she needed money from the fund now and it was more than the maximum she was allowed to withdraw. Lydia explained that Cynthia’s provincial government allowed a one-time withdrawal due to financial hardship and she helped Lydia complete the forms that had to be submitted for approval. During the next few weeks Lydia regularly called Cynthia to keep her updated on the progress of her request.

Once the province approved the withdrawal Lydia called Cynthia to let her know that a cheque was being mailed to her. Upon getting the news that the money was on it’s way to her, Cynthia said, “You have been so wonderful!”

Lydia had more good news. Cynthia was presently investing in a fund that would soon be discontinued and the money would be transferred to a new fund with a lower fund management fee. That meant more money for Cynthia!
Before they ended the call Lydia said, “If you have any questions just ring me up.”

Cynthia responded, “I certainly will. I feel like I know you and you’ve been most helpful. She added, “I don’t know anyone in Toronto but if I did and they wanted to invest in a company I would say, go see Lydia, she’s your girl!”

For a portfolio review call a licensed Financial Services Consultant1 today at 1-877-805-9303. There are no fees for this service.

Nous avons remarqué une hausse de tentatives de fraude liées à la COVID-19, tant par courriel que par texto et par téléphone. Soyez prudent. Voici comment vous pouvez vous en protéger et quoi faire si vous soupçonnez être victime d’une tentative de fraude.

Voyez aussi notre réponse à la pandémie sur sunlife.ca/la-covid-19

Lydia – quel service!

Histoire d'une participante d'un régime Continuité

L'histoire qui suit est basée sur l'expérience réelle d'une participante.

The scenario

  • Nom : Cynthia
  • Situation : Retrait d'un FRV
  • Connaissance des placements : Moyenne

Les échanges entre Cynthia et Lydia ont commencé le 10 avril 2015. C'est ce jour-là que Lydia, consultante-retraite1  à la Financière Sun Life a appelé Cynthia pour la première fois.

Cynthia venait tout juste de perdre son emploi et elle devait transférer ses fonds hors du régime de retraite à cotisations déterminées de son employeur. Lydia a communiqué avec Cynthia afin de l'aider à effectuer le transfert. Une fois que Lydia eut expliqué les options à Cynthia,

cette dernière a décidé de transférer ses fonds à un régime de revenu de retraite Nouveaux choix de la Financière Sun Life.

Une fois le transfert effectué, Lydia a dit à Cynthia de ne pas hésiter à l'appeler au besoin pour discuter du régime Continuité.

Huit mois plus tard, Cynthia a décroché le téléphone et a appelé Lydia. Elle avait besoin d'argent sur-le-champ, et d'une somme plus élevée que le retrait maximum autorisé. Lydia a expliqué à Cynthia qu'en vertu de la loi provinciale, il lui était possible d'effectuer un retrait ponctuel pour cause de difficultés financières, et elle l'a aidée à remplir les formulaires à soumettre. Durant les semaines qui ont suivies, Lydia a appelé Cynthia afin de la tenir au courant de l'évolution de la demande.

Une fois le retrait approuvé par l'autorité provinciale, Lydia a appelé Cynthia pour l'informer qu'un chèque lui parviendrait par la poste. Cynthia a alors dit à Lydia : «Tu as été si merveilleuse!»

Lydia avait une autre bonne nouvelle. L'actif que détenait Cynthia dans un fonds qui serait supprimé sous peu devait être transféré à un fonds de remplacement à frais de gestion de fonds moins élevés. Cela signifiait plus d'argent pour Cynthia!

Avant de terminer l'appel, Lydia a dit à Cynthia : «N'hésitez pas à m'appeler si vous avez des questions.»

Cynthia a répondu : «Je n'y manquerai pas. J'ai l'impression de te connaître, et tu as été vraiment serviable.» Puis, elle a ajouté : «Je ne connais pas de gens à Toronto qui veulent investir, toutefois, si c'était le cas, je te les adresserais sans hésiter, Lydia – quel service!»

Pour obtenir un examen de votre portefeuille, appelez un conseiller en services financiers autorisé1 aujourd'hui en composant le 1-877-805-9303. Ce service est offert sans frais.