We’ve noticed a rise in COVID-19 scams by email, text and phone. Please be cautious. Here’s how you can protect yourself and what to do if you suspect fraud. You can also find the latest info on how we’re responding to the pandemic at sunlife.ca/covid-19.

Liability driven investments

How do liability driven investments work?

DB Solutions works with plan sponsors, their consultants and Sun Life Capital Management (Canada) Inc., to develop custom fixed income and/or derivative portfolios to match the pension plan's expected liabilities. Solutions can be simple or sophisticated depending on the plan sponsor's needs and investment policies.

What are advantages for liability driven investments for plan sponsors?

  • Reduced volatility of cash contributions
  • Reduced volatility of earnings per share and balance sheet items
  • Can facilitate future annuity purchase
  • Assets are maintained and can be used to fund longevity insurance premiums
  • Assets can be optimized to provide additional yield and diversification

Where to start?

Contact us for a non-binding customized illustrative quote at no cost. For more information about what details we need, access our liability driven investment quote data requirements.

Who provides LDI solutions?

Defined Benefits Solutions works in close collaboration with Sun Life Capital Management (Canada) Inc. to provide liability driven investing solutions. Sun Life Capital Management (Canada) Inc. manages the underlying investments that constitute the LDI mandates, while also partnering with DB Solutions to develop customized strategies, grow new business and provide ongoing client servicing.

Sun Life Capital Management (Canada) Inc. is a Canadian registered portfolio manager that was established in Canada in August 2013 to offer customized investment solutions, specializing in open-ended private asset class pooled funds, to institutional investors. Visit SLCManagement.com for more information about the company.

LDI Facts

£908 billion of U.K. pension assets managed with reference to their liabilities.2

 

1 Liability driven investment solutions are provided by Sun Life Capital Management (Canada) Inc., a Canadian registered portfolio manager, investment fund manager, exempt market dealer, and in Ontario, commodity trading manager. Access SLCManagement.com for more information about the company.

2 2017 KPMG LDI Survey

Nous avons remarqué une hausse de tentatives de fraude liées à la COVID-19, tant par courriel que par texto et par téléphone. Soyez prudent. Voici comment vous pouvez vous en protéger et quoi faire si vous soupçonnez être victime d’une tentative de fraude.

Voyez aussi notre réponse à la pandémie sur sunlife.ca/la-covid-19

Investissements guidés par le passif

Comment fonctionnent les IGP?

Les Solutions PD travaillent avec les promoteurs de régime, leurs consultants et Gestion de capital Sun Life (Canada) inc. à élaborer des portefeuilles de titres à revenu fixe et/ou de produits dérivés sur mesure qui correspondent au passif prévu du régime de retraite. Les solutions proposées peuvent être simples ou complexes, selon les besoins du promoteur et ses politiques de placement.

Quels sont les advantages des IGP pour les promoteurs?

  • Réduction de la volatilité des cotisations en espèces
  • Réduction de la volatilité du bénéfice par action et des éléments du bilan
  • Possibilité de souscription future d'une rente
  • Conservation de l'actif qui peut servir à couvrir les primes d'assurance longévité
  • Possibilité d'optimisation de l'actif pour procurer un rendement et une diversification accrus

Par où commencer?

Communiquez avec nous pour obtenir sans frais une tarification illustrative personnalisée sans obligation. Pour en savoir plus sur les renseignements dont nous avons besoin, accédez à nos exigences concernant la tarification de solutions d'investissements guidés par le passif.

Qui offre les solutions d'IGP?

Les Solutions prestations déterminées travaillent en étroite collaboration avec Gestion de capital Sun Life (Canada) inc. en vue d'offrir des solutions d'investissements guidés par le passif. Gestion de capital Sun Life (Canada) inc. gère les placements sous-jacents qui composent les mandats d'IGP, tout en travaillant en partenariat avec les Solutions PD à concevoir des stratégies sur mesure, créer de nouvelles occasions d'affaires et fournir du service à la clientèle.

Gestion de capital Sun Life (Canada) inc. est une société inscrite comme gestionnaire de portefeuille au Canada qui a été constituée en août 2013 en vue d'offrir des solutions de placement sur mesure, et plus particulièrement des fonds mis en commun ouverts de catégories d'actifs privés, aux investisseurs institutionnels. Rendez-vous à GestionSLC.com pour en savoir plus sur la société.

Les IGP en chiffres

Les actifs de régimes de retraite du Royaume-Uni gérés en relation avec les engagements s'élèvent à 908 milliards de livres2.

 

1 Les solutions d'investissements guidés par le passif sont offertes par Gestion de capital Sun Life (Canada) inc., société inscrite comme gestionnaire de portefeuille, gestionnaire de fonds de placement et courtier sur le marché dispensé au Canada, et comme gestionnaire des opérations sur marchandises en Ontario. Rendez-vous à GestionSLC.com pour en savoir plus sur la société.

2 Sondage KPMG LDI 2017